Which state goes to assembly elections next?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp
News at a Glance

Dharmapuri Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2014

Formed in 1977, the Dharmapuri Lok Sabha Constituency represents the district of Dharmapuri and is one of Tamil Nadu’s 39 parliamentary constituencies. The Dharmapuri Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 10) consists of 1,069,601 number of electorates in totality, of these 547,052 are males and 522,549 are females as the Election commission of India 2009 data suggests. It has six segments of the legislative assembly, one of which is reserved for the SC category and there are over 1,070,000 voters here. Dharmapuri District has its headquarters located in the city of Dharmapuri and is bounded by various districts from all sides. The district comprises of six Taluks and sprawls over an area of 4,497 sq km. Tamil and English are the predominantly used languages here.

With a population density of over 330 people per sq km and a growth rate of 17%, the total population of the district, as per the census of 2011 is 1,507,000 of which males are 774,303 and females are 732,540. Child population comprises of 168,000 and the sex ratio is 946 females per 1000 males. The average literacy rate here is 69% with male literacy rate at 77% and female literacy rate at 60%. Tourism and agriculture including mango cultivation boost the economy of the district. Hindu is the primary religious group here and several temples are situated in the area. The district is well connected via the National Highway NH-7.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Dharmapuri Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Dharmapuri parliamentary constituency of all the years fromthe starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Dharmapuri constituency is Shri Anbumani Ramadoss of PMK.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201410DharmapuriGENAnbumani RamadossMPMK468194Mohan.P.SMAIADMK391048
200910DharmapuriGENThamaraiselvan,Shri R. MDMK365812Senthil. R. Dr.MPMK229870
200413DharmapuriGENSenthil, Dr. R.MPMK397540Elangovan. P. D.MBJP181450
199913DharmapuriGENElangovan, P.D.MPMK340162Munusamy, K.P.MADMK314622
199813DharmapuriGENPary Mohan K.MPMK341917Theertharaman P.MTMC(M)242490
199113DharmapuriGENThangka Balu K.V.MINC322138Elangovan P.D.MPMK171649
198913DharmapuriGENSekhar, M. G.MADK315921Elangovan, B. D.MPMK202901
198413DharmapuriGENM. Thambi DuriaiMADK333427Parvathi KrishnanFCPI182175
198013DharmapuriGENArjunan K.MDMK209603Bhuvarahan G.MJNP142732
197713DharmapuriGENRamamurthy K.MINC239908Ponnuswami PMNCO134222

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

Facts about current sitting MP of Dharmapuri Constituency

Name of MP Dr. Anbumani Ramadoss
Age 50
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party Pattali Makkal Katchi
Gender Male
Educational Qualification M.B.B.S.
Activities of Dr. Anbumani Ramadoss in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 9
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 43
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Dharmapuri Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Dharmapuri parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Palacode Pennagaram Dharmapuri
Pappireddippatti (SC) Harur Mettur

Last Updated on February 24, 2015

Track your constituency