Track your constituency

Live News

Dharmapuri (Tamil Nadu) Election Results 2016

Latest Election News and Update Bihar Exit Poll NDA Wins Bihar Election: Accurately Predicted by – Chintamani Exit Poll

The – Chintamani Exit poll for Bihar Election 2020 couldn’t have been more accurate to predict the win of NDA. When all the other exit polls had projected a Read More…

Bihar Election Result LIVE Update Bihar Election Results LIVE Updates

9:37:41 PM Mayawati’s BSP has secured 1 seat in Bihar Elections. While AIMIM had won 3 seats and is leading on 2. In the case of Left parties, CPI and Read More…

Bihar Exit Poll Unpredictability The Unpredictability of Exit Polls in Bihar Election

The Bihar Election 2020 Exit Polls have failed to give a uniform prediction about the winner. This means that the actual Bihar Election Result 2020 can swing in any direction. Read More…

Bihar Exit Poll 2020 Chintamani Exit Poll Predicts NDA’s Victory in Bihar Election 2020

Bihar has voted for the third and final phase of Bihar Election 2020. The result of the Bihar Election 2020 will be announced on 10 November. Prior to that, Chintamani Read More…

BJP Vote Share 2015 Analysis: Compared to Rivals, BJP’s Bihar Vote Share Swelled from 2005

Bihar is a state where the calculations of caste arithmetic and vote share hold tremendous importance for the political parties. Moreover, it can make or break the Bihar election result. Read More…

Bihar Election 2020: Key Candidates in the Ring for First Phase

The Bihar Election 2020 is commencing since the polling for the first phase is scheduled for 28 October 2020. In the first phase, 71 constituencies are witnessing the battle. Many Read More…

About Dharmapuri Assembly Constituency

Dharmapuri is constituency No. 59 of Tamil Nadu assembly constituency. It is situated in the district that goes by the same name. Dharmapuri was the first constituency to emerge in Tamil Nadu after India's independence. It is an open constituency.

According to the Election Commission of India, Dharmapuri has a total of 2,15,940 registered voters. It includes 1,10,117 male and 1,05,816 female voters.

In the 2011 assembly elections, the Dharmapuri seat was won by DMDK party. Baskar A, the winning candidate, got 76,943 votes. His main contender, Santhamoorthy P. of PMK, got 72,900. The voter turnout was 77.92 %. It was an important maiden victory for the recently formed DMDK party.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Dharmapuri Assembly Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Dharmapuri assembly elections conducted so far.

YearA C No.Constituency NameCategoryWinnerSex PartyVotesRunner UpGenderPartyVotes
201159DharmapuriGENBaskar AMDMDK76943Santhamoorthy PMPMK72900
200682DharmapuriGENVelusamy. LMPMK76195Sampath V.SMMDMK45988
200182DharmapuriGENPary Mohan .KMPMK56147Manoharan.KMDMK45173
199682DharmapuriGENManokaran, K.MDMK63973Mase HarurMINC26951
199182DharmapuriGENPonnusamy P.MINC53910Chinnasamy R.MDMK27017
198982DharmapuriGENChinnasamy, R.MDMK32794Ponnuswamy, P.MINC20243
198482DharmapuriGENChinnasamy R.MDMK46383Aranganathan S.MADK37929
198082DharmapuriGENAranganathan, S.MADK33977Vadivel, D.N.MINC(I)32472
197782DharmapuriGENP.K.C. MuthuswamyMJNP26742D.S. ShanmugamMADK21556
197177DharmapuriGENR. ChinnasamyMDMK39861D. N. AdivelMNCO27834
196777DharmapuriGENM. S. GounterMDMK36258D. N. VadivelMINC29567

Last Updated on May 13, 2016