Which state goes to assembly elections 2018 next?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp
News at a Glance

Sachin Pilot Biography

Sachin Pilot

Sachin Pilot

Full NameSachin Pilot
Elected fromAjmer
Political PartyIndian National Congress
Place of BirthSaharanpur, Uttar Pradesh
EducationB.A. (Hons), M.B.A.(Educated at St. Stephens College, University of Delhi, Delhi and Wharton Business School, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, USA
Marital StatusMarried
Spouse NameSmt. Sara Pilot
Children2 sons
Father's NameLate Shri Rajesh Pilot
Mother's NameSmt. Rama Pilot
Position HeldMinister of Corporate Affairs
ProfessionPolitician, Army officer
ResidenceNew Delhi, India, Jaipur, Rajasthan, India, Ghaziabad, Uttar Pradesh, India
Email idpilotoffice@nic.in (28 October 2012 - 17 May 2014)

Sachin Pilot Losing Ajmer

Sachin Pilot, a INC leader, son of the famous INC leader Rajesh Pilot, lost to Bharatiya Janata Party's (BJP) candidate Sanwar Lal Jat from the Ajmer constituency in Rajasthan.

Pilot garnered 4,65,891 votes, while the BJP candidate secured 6,37,874 votes, having won with a margin of around 1,71,983 votes. NCP's Sanwar Lal stood at the third position with 12,149 votes.

Sachin Pilot represented the Ajmer constituency as an MP in the 15th Lok Sabha from the Congress. He was also the Minister of Corporate Affairs, and was appointed as the President of Rajasthan Pradesh Congress Committee (RPCC). Pilot was the youngest Member of Parliament in the country.

About Sachin Pilot

Sachin Pilot, a young politician of India, is a member of the Indian National Congress (INC) representing the constituency of Ajmer, Rajasthan. Presently he is Minister of Corporate Affairs. He is also famously known as Lieutenant Pilot.He is currently the President of the Rajasthan Pradesh Congress Committee.

Personal background of Sachin Pilot

Sachin Pilot was born on September 7, 1977 in Saharanpur, Uttar Pradesh. His father, Rajesh Pilot, a Congress (I) leader, was a Union minister of India. His mother is Rama Pilot. He got married to Saraa Abdullah, the daughter of Farooq Abdullah, in 2004. He has two sons, Aaran and Vehan.

Sachin Pilot is a graduate in B.A. from the St. Stephen’s College, Delhi. He holds double MBA degree, one from the Institute of Management Technology, Ghaziabad, and the other from the University of Pennsylvania, USA.

You may also like to read
Know about Murli Manohar Joshi
Know Political Journey of Nandan Nilekani
Know about Elections in India

Detailed professional background before entering politics

Sachin Pilot has served the Delhi Bureau of British Broadcasting Corporation, and the American multinational corporation General Motors.

Political activities and achievements

  • In 2004, elected to the 14th Lok Sabha.
  • Became the youngest MP in India (at the age of 26).
  • Defeated Kiran Maheshwari (BJP) in 2009.
  • In 2004, became member of the Standing Committee of Lok Sabha on Home Affairs.
  • In 2006, became member of the Consultative Committee in the Ministry of Civil Aviation.
  • In 2009, became Union Minister of State for Communications and IT.
  • In 2012, became Union Minister of State for Corporate Affairs.
  • Consortium of Investigative Journalists| International Consortium of Investigative Journalism]] cited his name in the list of politicians named in "Paradise Papers" allegations.
  • Set up Citizens’ Alliance, an advocacy group against malnutrition and unceasing hunger in India.
  • Member of Prime Minister’s team of youth brigade.

Sachin Pilot Elections result

YearConstituency State Status

Awards Won by Sachin Pilot

  • On September 6, 2012 he became the first Indian minister to hold the position of a Union Minister and an officer of the Territorial Army simultaneously.
  • To know more about Sachin Pilot and his life, read the book Rajesh Pilot: In Spirit Forever by Sarika Pilot.

Status of Sachin Pilot and his opponent candidates against from Ajmer Parliamentary Constituency in Rajasthan

The table below shows the status of Sachin Pilot and candidates contesting against him from Ajmer lok sabha seat with their party names and symbols along with the votes secured by each candidate.

Candidate NamePolitical PartySymbolStatusvotes
Sachin Pilot INC INC  -- 465891
Mukul MishraABHM--N.A
Bhanwar Lal SoniINDIND--N.A
Krishna Kumar DadhichINDIND--N.A
Sanwar Lal Jat BJP BJP  -- 637874
Surendra Kumar JainINDIND--N.A
Jagdish Singh RawatINDIND--N.A
Sanwar LalNCPNCP--N.A
Narain Das SindhiINDIND--N.A
Anita JainINDIND--N.A

Last Updated on 10 November, 2018

Track your constituency