Which state goes to assembly elections next?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp
News at a Glance

Karunanidhi Biography

Muthuvel Karunanidhi

Muthuvel Karunanidhi(Born Dakshinamurthy)

Name(s)Muthuvel Karunanidhi
DOB Jun 3, 1924
Place of Birth Thirukuvalai, Tiruvarur, Tamil Nadu
Political Party Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK)
Profession before joining politics Screenwriter in the Tamil film industry.
Spouse Name 3 wives named Padmavathi, Dayalu & Rajathi.
Children 5 son M. K. Muthu, M. K. Alagiri, M. K. Stalin, M. K. Tamilarasu, M. K. Selvi & 1 daughter Kanimozhi.
Important positions held
  • 3rd Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu ( 13 May 2006 - 15 May 2011), ( 13 May 1996 - 13 May 2001), ( 27 January 1989 - 30 January 1991), ( 15 March 1971 - 31 January 1976), ( 10 February 1969 - 4 January 1971)
  • Member of the Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly for Thiruvarur (Assumed office 15 May 2011)

About M. Karunanidhi

Muthuvel Karunanidhi is an Indian politician who has served as the chief minister of Tamil Nadu on five separate occasions. He was born on 3 June 1924. He is the president of the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK), a major Dravidian political party in the state of Tamil Nadu. Karunanidhi has led this party since the demise of its founder, C. N. Annadurai, in 1969. In a political career spanning more than six decades, Karunanidhi holds the record of winning a seat every time he has contested. The DMK chief has also worked as a playwright and screenwriter for Tamil cinema. He is known as 'Kalaignar' (meaning 'artist') by his supporters.

Political Career of M. Karunanidhi

Karunanidhi was inspired to join politics at a young age of 14 after hearing a speech by Alagiriswami of the Justice Party. His political career began with participation in Anti-Hindi agitations. He started an organisation of the local youth in his locality and circulated a handwritten newspaper, 'Manavar Nesan', among its members.

Subsequently, he founded a student organisation called 'Tamil Nadu Tamil Manavar Mandram'. It was the first student wing of the Dravidian Movement. Karunanidhi got involved in social work along with other members of his organisation. He started a newspaper which grew into 'Murasoli', the DMK party's official newspaper today.

Karunanidhi's foray into Tamil Nadu politics began with his participation in the Kallakudi agitation in 1953. The original name of this industrial town was Kallakudi and it was changed to Dalmiapuram to name it after a cement baron who had built a cement plant here. The DMK was protesting to change the name back to Kallakudi. During the protest, two people died and Karunanidhi was arrested.

You may also like to read
Know about C D Mahant
Know Political Journey of Brij Mohan Agarwal
Know about Elections in India
Karunanidhi was first elected to the Tamil Nadu legislative assembly in 1957 from Kulithalai seat of Tiruchirapalli district. He became the DMK treasurer in 1961 and deputy leader of opposition in the state assembly the following year.

When the DMK came to power in 1967, he became the minister for public works. After the death of C.N. Annadurai in 1969, Karunanidhi became the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu. He has held various positions in the party and government during his long career in Tamil Nadu politics.

Karunanidhi suffered multiple electoral defeats against his main opponent M.G. Ramachandran's ADMK until the latter's death in 1987. Karunanidhi became the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu in 1996. After completing a full term, his party lost in the 2001 elections to J. Jayalalithaa's AIADMK.

He was back in power five years later after his coalition defeated J. Jayalalithaa in the 2006 elections. After another full term in office, Karunanidhi lost to Jayalalitha's AIADMK in the 2011 Assembly elections. He is currently representing Tiruvarur constituency in Tamil Nadu legislative assembly. He has been elected to the Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly 12 times and once to the erstwhile Tamil Nadu Legislative Council.
Last Updated on 12 June, 2018

Track your constituency