Who Will Form the Next Govenment in Telangana?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp

Chembur (Maharashtra) Assembly Constituency Elections

No query found

About Chembur Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Constituency

A suburb in the Mumbai Suburban district of Maharashtra, the assembly constituency of Chembur belongs to Mumbai South Central parliamentary constituency. The seat which was occupied by BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party) from 1990 to 1999 was taken over by INC (Indian National Congress) in the 2004 assembly elections. Chandrakant Damodhar Handore of INC won the 2009 assembly elections for the second consecutive time and is the present MLA. He defeated Anil Bachubhai Chauhan of MNS (Maharashtra Navnirman Sena) with a huge margin. Handore bagged 47431 votes as against Chauhan's 29465 votes. The word Chembur is derived from the Marathi word 'Chimboree' which means large crab.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Chembur Assembly Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Chembur assembly elections conducted so far.

YearA C No.Constituency NameCategoryWinnerGenderPartyVotesRunner UpGenderPartyVotes
2014173ChemburGENPrakash Vaikunth PhaterpekarMSHS47410Chandrakant Damodhar HandoreMINC37383
2009173ChemburGENChandrakant Damodhar HandoreMINC47431Anil Bachubhai ChauhanMMNS29465
200447ChemburGENChandrakant Handore MINC46196Pramod ShirwalkarMBJP43746
199947ChemburGENPramod Shirwalkar MBJP58118Chandrakant Damodhar HandoreMIND17727
199547ChemburGENAdvani Hashu MBJP57790Kunnure Annasaheb RamchandraMINC43172
199047ChemburGENAdvani Hashu MBJP49739Chandrakant HandoreMRPI49071
198547ChemburGENParihar Parvati Laxmnarain FINC35115Advani HashuMBJP27529
198047ChemburGENAdvani Hashu Parasram MBJP24810Vicki KapoorMINC(I)21288
197847ChemburGENAdwani Hashu Parasram MJNP43028Rupavate Premchand DamodarMINC19297
197246ChemburGENVishwanath Krishna TembeMINC60690Hashu Parasaram Advani MBJS24453
196746ChemburGENH. R. AdvaniMBJS21841N. G. AcharyaMINC19561
196223ChemburGENVadilal Chatrabhuj GandhiMINC59446Raghunath Janardan DhupkarMCPI19319

Last Updated on February 17, 2015

Track your constituency