Who Will Form the Next Govenment in Telangana?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp

Korba Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2014

The Korba Lok Sabha seat came into existence in 2008 and contested its first Lok Sabha elections immediately the year after. According to Election Commission of India 2009 data the total electorates in the Korba Parliamentary constituency
(constituency number 4) were 1,276,443 of which 616,702 are females and 659,741 are males. The Korba constituency is one of the 11 parliamentary constituencies in the central Indian state of Chhattisgarh and plays a prominent role in the political affairs of the state.

A Congress vote bank bastion, this parliamentary constituency is made up of eight assembly constituencies that comprise the Korba parliamentary constituency. Out of these, four segments, namely Bharatpur-Sonhat, Marwahi, Rampur and Pali-Tanakhar are reserved for candidates belonging to the scheduled tribes.

The Korba constituency is spread over more than one district, as the assembly segments are scattered over many regions. While the Koriya district's regions of Bharatpur-Sonhat, Manendragarh and Baikunthpur assembly segments fall within this constituency, the Korba district's Rampur, Korba, Katghora and Pali-Tanakhar segments are in this constituency. Marwahi assembly constituency is part of the Bilaspur district.

The Korba parliamentary constituency is known for its rich coal mines, such as Dipka area, Kusmunda area and Gevra area, which supports the main economic base in the constituency. The Korba city is the main administrative seat of the Korba district, besides being its municipal corporation. According to the Census of India 2011, Korba has a population of 12,06,640 people.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Korba Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Korba parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Korba constituency is Dr. Banshilal Mahto of BJP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category WinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
20144KorbaGENDr. Banshilal Mahto M BJP 439002 Charan Das Mahant M INC 434737
20094KorbaGENMahant,Dr. Charan Das MINC314616Karuna ShuklaMBJP273216

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

List of Assembly Constituencies in Korba Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Korba parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Bharatpur-Sonhat (ST) Rampur (ST) Pali-Tanakhar (ST)
Manendragarh Korba Marwahi (ST)
Baikunthpur Katghora

Last Updated on February 24, 2015

Track your constituency
[an error occurred while processing this directive]