Harirampur (West Bengal) Assembly Elections Results

About Mekliganj Legislative Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Constituency

Mekliganj is a legislative assembly constituency located in the Maldaha district of West Bengal and is a part of the Maldaha Uttar Lok Sabha (parliamentary) constituency of the state. At present, CPM's Khagen Murmu represents the Mekliganj legislative assembly of West Bengal as he won it in the 2011 assembly elections. Murmu bagged 59,286 votes in the elections and beat Mohan Tudu of All India Trinamool Congress (AITC) by a margin of 2,258 votes. The constituency is home to 2,08,673 eligible voters, out of whom the number of male voters is 1,07,156 while the number of female voters is 1,01,515. Mangalpur, Aktail, Kanturka, Baidyapur, Jajail, Bulbul Chandi, Mekliganj and Dhumpur gram panchayats of Mekliganj community development block; and Bamangol community development block are covered by the Mekliganj legislative assembly constituency as recommended by the Delimitation Commission of India in 2008. Only candidates belonging to Scheduled Tribes (STs) can contest the Mekliganj assembly seat.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Mekliganj Assembly Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Mekliganj assembly elections conducted so far.

Year A C No. Constituency Name Category Winner Gender Party Vote Runner Up Gender Party Vote
2011 43 Habibpur (ST) Khagen Murmu M CPM 59286 Mohan Tudu M AITC 57028
2006 39 Habibpur (ST) Khagen Murmu M CPI(M) 56477 Ramlal Hansda M BJP 47283
2001 39 Habibpur (ST) Jadu Hemrom M CPM 43992 Ramlal Hansda M BJP 25798
1996 39 Habibpur (ST) Jadu Hembram M CPM 55288 Lucas Hembram M INC 37395
1991 39 Habibpur (ST) Sarkar Murmu M CPM 42781 Gopinath Murmu M INC 29210
1987 39 Habibpur (ST) Sarkar Murmu M CPM 43286 Moshi Charan Tudu M INC 30509
1982 39 Habibpur (ST) Sarkar Murmu M CPM 33187 Mashi Charan Tudu M INC 32703
1977 39 Habibpur (ST) Murmu Sarkar M CPM 16509 Bobila Murmu M JNP 8241
1972 36 Habibpur (ST) Rabindra Nath Murmu M CPI 27027 Sarkar Murmu M CPM 13207
1971 36 Habibpur (ST) Sarkar Murmu M IND 15767 Boila Murmu M INC 14307
1969 36 Habibpur (ST) Nimai Chand Murmu M CPI 21938 Boila Murmu M INC 21904
1967 36 Habibpur (ST) B.Murmu M INC 21866 N.C.Murmu M CPI 21249

Last Updated on: June 08, 2020
Latest News Updates

West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Pondicherry and Assam Election Dates