Track your constituency

Bhabanipur (West Bengal) Assembly Elections Results

About Bhabanipur Assembly Constituency

Bhabanipur is constituency No. 159 of West Bengal legislative assembly. It is situated in Kolkata and is part of Lok Sabha constituency No. 23 which is Kolkata Dakshin. It is an open constituency.As per orders of the Delimitation Commission, Bhabanipur (Vidhan Sabha constituency) is composed of the following: Ward Nos. 63, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 77 and 82 of Kolkata Municipal Corporation. According to data collected by the Election Commission of India, the constituency of Bhabanipur has 2,12,821 registered voters out of which 1,20,537 are male and 92,284 are female voters. In the 2021 assembly elections, Sovandeb Chatterjee of AITC won from this constituency. He defeated his nearest rival, Rudranil Ghosh of BJP, by a formidable margin of 28,719 votes. The voter turnout was 63.78 %. The byelection in the Bhabanipur Assembly constituency in West Bengal, from where Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee is to contest, will be held on September 30, the Election Commission of India announced on Saturday.The counting of votes in all four constituencies will be held on October 3. The nominations are to be filed from September 6 to 13. Stricter norms had been put in place, including limiting indoor meetings to 30% of the allowed capacity or 200 persons, whichever is less.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Bhabanipur Assembly Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Bhabanipur assembly elections conducted so far.

YearA C No.Constituency NameCategoryWinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
2021159BhabanipurGENSovandeb ChatterjeeMAITC73,505Rudranil GhoshMBJP44,786
2016159BhabanipurGENMamata BanerjeeMAITC65,520Deepa DasmunshiFINC40,219
2011159BhabanipurGENSubrata BakshiMAITC87903Narayan Prasad JainMCPM37967
2011By PollsBhabanipurGENMamata BanerjeeFAITC73635N. MukherjeeMCPM19422

Last Updated on Sept 27, 2021