Basirhat Dakshin (West Bengal) Assembly Elections Results

About Basirhat Dakshin Legislative Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Constituency

Basirhat Dakshin is constituency No. 124 of West Bengal legislative assembly. It is situated in North 24 Parganas district and comes under Basirhat Lok Sabha constituency. It is an open constituency. According to data with the Election Commission of India, Basirhat Dakshin has 2,13,441 registered voters. It comprises 1,10,390 male and 1,03,051 female registered voters. The CPI(M) won this seat in the 2011 Assembly elections. Narayan Mukherjee was the winning CPI(M) candidate. Mukherjee got 66,914 votes and beat his nearest contender by a margin of 12,400 votes. Trinamool Congress (TMC) candidate Narayan Goswami, who secured 54,514 votes, was the nearest contender. The voter turnout was 87.33 %.

About Basirhat Dakshin Assembly (Vidha Sabha) Constituency – Bye Elections 2014

Basirhat Dakshin Assembly constituency of West Bengal will have by-polls on September 13, 2014. This Vidhan Sabha seat has been left vacant since Narayan Mukherjee of CPM, the MLA from Basirhat Dakshin constituency, committed suicide. The seat will witness a fight among All India Trinamool Congress's Dipendu Biswas (Mithu), BJP's Samik Bhattacharya, Congress' Asit Majumdar, SUCI(C)'s Ajay Kumar Bain and CPI(M)'s Mrinal Chakraborty. BJP is keen on winning Basirhat Dakshin from TMC and start with its account in Bengal’s legislative assembly. Therefore, BJP is concentrating all of its strength on this MLA seat. Also, since the constituency is very sensitive, the Election Commission will deploy up to 20 companies of the central forces as precautionary measures beforehand to thwart violence. The total number of electors in Basirhat Dakshin are 2, 13,440. The last Assembly Elections were held in 2011 when Narayan Mukherjee of Communist Party of India (Marxist) had come out as the winner after defeating Trinamool’s Narayan Goswami. WBPP12.09.2014.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Assembly Basirhat Dakshin Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in theHaroa assembly elections conducted so far.
Year A C No. Constituency Name Category Winner Gender Party Vote Runner Up Gender Party Vote
2011 123 Basirhat Dakshin (ST) Nirapada Sardar M CPM 66815 Srimati Padma Mahato F AITC 62583
2006 98 Basirhat Dakshin (SC) Abani Roy M CPI(M) 69859 Gita Mondal F AITC 49867
2001 98 Basirhat Dakshin (SC) Kanti Biswas M CPM 65214 Ranjit Kumar Das M AITC 38110
1996 98 Basirhat Dakshin (SC) Kanti Biswas M CPM 65467 Ranjit Kumardas M INC 43589
1991 98 Basirhat Dakshin (SC) Dhiren Mondal M CPM 58031 Krishna Pada Patra M INC 28481
1987 98 Basirhat Dakshin (SC) Kumud Ranjan Biswas M CPM 54217 Ranajit Kumar Das M INC 38209
1982 98 Basirhat Dakshin (SC) Kumud Ranjan Biswas M CPM 53225 Ananta Kumar Bera M INC 30473
1977 98 Basirhat Dakshin (SC) Kumud Ranjan Biswas M CPM 32907 Ramajit Kumar Das M INC 11260
1972 92 Basirhat Dakshin (ST) Debendra Nath Sinha M INC 24764 Sarat Sarder M CPM 21905
1971 92 Basirhat Dakshin (ST) Sarat Sarder M CPM 20053 Debendra Nath Sinha M INC 20006
1969 92 Basirhat Dakshin (ST) Sarat Sardar M CPM 28431 Debendra Nath Sinha M INC 16851
1967 92 Basirhat Dakshin (ST) D.N.Sinha M INC 17894 S.Sardar M CPM 14093
1962 86 Basirhat Dakshin (SC) Ananta Kumar Baidya M INC 17564 Haran Chandra Mondal M RSP 13711
1957 169 Basirhat Dakshin GEN Haran Chandra Mondal (Sc) M IND 11154 Jyotish Chandra Roy (Sc) M INC 7864

Last Updated on: June 08, 2020
Latest News Updates

West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Pondicherry and Assam Election Dates