Basanti (West Bengal) Assembly Elections Results

About Basanti Legislative Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Constituency

Basanti is constituency No. 128 of West Bengal legislative assembly. It is situated in South 24 Parganas district and comes under Jaynagar Lok Sabha constituency. Both Basanti and its corresponding Lok Sabha constituency Jaynagar are reserved for scheduled castes (SC). According to data with the Election Commission of India, Basanti has 1,82,806 registered voters. It comprises 95,074 male and 87,732 female registered voters. In the 2011 Assembly elections, the Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP) won this seat by a narrow margin of 6,235 votes. The winning RSP candidate, Subhas Naskar, got 72,871 votes. The runner-up was Arnab Ray of Congress who got 66,636 votes. The voter turnout was 81.26 %.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Assembly Basanti Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Basanti assembly elections conducted so far.
Year A C No. Constituency Name Category Winner Gender Party Vote Runner Up Gender Party Vote
2011 128 Basanti (SC) Subhas Naskar M RSP 72871 Arnab Ray M INC 66636
2006 101 Basanti (SC) Subhas Naskar M RSP 88857 Amal Kanti Ray M BJP 36256
2001 101 Basanti (SC) Subhas Naskar M RSP 81177 Jayanta Naskar M AITC 50829
1996 101 Basanti (SC) Subhas Naskar M RSP 69834 Jayanta Naskar M INC 60372
1991 101 Basanti (SC) Subhas Naskar M RSP 53470 Bipin Behari Sardar M INC 30285
1987 101 Basanti (SC) Subhas Naskar M RSP 50674 Jnanendra Nath Majumdar M INC 38735
1982 101 Basanti (SC) Subhas Naskar M RSP 48615 Bipinbehari Sardar M INC 31840
1977 101 Basanti (SC) Kalipada Barman M RSP 24695 Chittaranjan Naskar M INC 11765
1972 94 Basanti GEN Panchanan Sinha M INC 26873 Ashoke Chaudhuri M RSP 23650
1971 94 Basanti GEN Panchanan Sinha M INC 17643 Daud Khan M CPM 14253
1969 94 Basanti GEN Ashoke Chaudhuri M RSP 21675 Jasimuddin Ahmed M INC 19790
1967 94 Basanti GEN S.Khatun F INC 21325 S.Sarkar M IND 19879
1962 90 Basanti GEN Shakila Khatun F INC 20131 Phani Bhushan Mondal M IND 6153

Last Updated on: June 08, 2020
Latest News Updates

West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Pondicherry and Assam Election Dates