Barabani (West Bengal) Assembly Elections Results

Barabani Assembly Constituency

Barabani is constituency no. 283 of West Bengal legislative assembly. It is situated in Bardhaman district and comes under Asansol Lok Sabha constituency. It is an open constituency. According to data with the Election Commission of India, Barabani has 1,85,113 registered voters comprising 98,373 male and 86,740 female registered voters. In the 2011 Assembly elections, the Trinamool Congress (TMC) won this seat by 20,577 votes. Bidhan Upadhyay, the winning candidate, got 78,628 votes. The nearest contender was Abhas Raychaudhuri of CPI(M) who got 58,051 votes. The voter turnout was 80.32 %.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Barabani Assembly Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Barabani assembly elections conducted so far.

Year A C No. Constituency Name Category Winner Gender Party Vote Runner Up Gender Party Vote
2011 283 Barabani GEN Bidhan Upadhyay M AITC 78628 Abhas Raychaudhuri M CPM 58051
2006 258 Barabani GEN Dilip Sarkar M CPI(M) 59783 Upadhyay Manik M AITC 44401
2001 258 Barabani GEN Manik Upadhyay M AITC 51986 Rudranath Mukherjee M CPM 47252
1996 258 Barabani GEN Manik Upadhyay M INC 61225 Paresh Maji M CPM 51959
1991 258 Barabani GEN S. R. Das M CPM 50560 Manik Upadhayay M INC 48097
1988 By Polls Barabani GEN M.Upadhyay M INC 45424 S.R.Das M CPM 44771
1987 258 Barabani GEN Ajit Kumar Chakarbarty M CPM 44448 Upadhyay Manik M INC 41989
1982 258 Barabani GEN Ajt Chakrabarty M CPM 36378 Dhiraj Sain M INC 28472
1977 258 Barabani GEN Sunil Basu Roy M CPM 22514 Sukumar Bandopadhya M INC 15674
1972 246 Barabani GEN Sukumar Bandyopadhyay M INC 29214 Sunil Basu Roy M CPM 11150
1971 246 Barabani GEN Basuroy Sunil M CPM 20211 Sukumar Bandopadhaya M INC 13877
1969 246 Barabani GEN Sunil Basu Roy M CPM 22556 Mihir Upadhyay M INC 14268
1967 246 Barabani GEN M . Upadhyay M INC 17080 S . B . Ray M CPM 13541
1962 225 Barabani GEN Haridas Chakravarty M CPI 9483 Ramkrishna Roy M INC 8222

Last Updated on: June 08, 2020
Latest News Updates

West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Pondicherry and Assam Election Dates