Track your constituency

Live News

Banda Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

Uttar Pradesh infographics banner

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Banda Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
R.K. Singh PatelBharatiya Janata Party477100082647792646.2Winner
Shyama Charan GuptaSamajwadi Party418647034141898840.51st Runner-up
Balkumar PatelIndian National Congress75350088754387.292nd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above1924802192501.863rd Runner-up
ChhotelalPragatishil Samajwadi Party (Lohia)1274601127471.234th Runner-up
MahendraCommunist Party Of India10347021034915th Runner-up
Shiraz Rahat KhanAmbedkar Samaj Party78690478730.766th Runner-up
Mira DeviSwatantra Jantaraj Party65390665450.637th Runner-up
RampratapIndependent54300354330.538th Runner-up

Banda Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2014

One of the 80 constituencies of Uttar Pradesh, Banda Lok Sabha Constituency was formed before the elections of 1957. The Banda Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 48) has a total of 1,386,265 electorates out of which 618,983 are females and 767,282 are males according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports. It has five Vidhan Sabha segments of which one is reserved for the SC category. Banda is a city and the headquarters of the Banda District. The district sprawls over an area of 4,413 sq km and is a part of the division of Chitrakoot. The famous site of Khajuraho is located here. The district is divided into the tehsils of Banda, Naraini, Baberu and Atarra.

According to the census data of 2011, the district has a population ofover 1,799,000 and is the 265th most populous district of the country. 52% of the population is male whereas 48% is female. From 2001-2011, its population growth rate was 17.06% and it has a population density of 404 people per sq km. 16.39% of the population is below the age of six and the sex ratio is 860 females per 1000 males. The average literacy rate of Banda is 66.67%, male literacy rate is 77.78% and female literacy rate is 53.67%. Bundeli and Hindi are the most commonly used languages here. Economically, Banda is one of the 250 most backward districts of India and receives funds. NH-76 and NH-232 pass through the district.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Banda Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Banda parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Banda constituency is Shri Bhairon Prasad Mishra of BJP.

YearPC No.PC NameCategoryWinner/Current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201448BandaGENBhairon Prasad MishraMBJP342066R. K. Singh PatelMBSP226278
200948BandaGENPatel,Shri R.K. Singh MSP240948Bhairon Prasad MishraMBSP206355
200455BandaGENShyama Charan GuptMSP185099Ram SajeewanMBSP128795
199959BandaGENRam SajiwanMBSP209995Shyam Charan GuptaMSP181364
199859BandaGENRamesh Chandra DwivediMBJP184401RamsajeewanMBSP166453
199659BandaGENRam Sajeevan SinghMBSP125778Prakash NarayanMBJP116607
199159BandaGENPrakash NarainMBJP101836Babulal KushwahaMBSP91652
198959BandaGENRam SajiwanMCPI104142Chandra Bhan AzadMBSP76895
198459BandaGENBhism Deo DubeyMINC142085Ram SajiwanMCPI84586
198059BandaGENRam Nath DubeyMINC(I)126031Chandra Bhan AzadMCPI80977
197759BandaGENAmbika PrasadMBLD138848Rameshwar PrasadMINC81353
197159BandaGENRam Ratan SharmaMBJS96770Deo KumarMCPI89728
196759BandaGENJageshwarMCPI66042A.P. Misra MBJS58573
196260BandaGENSavitri NigamMINC45919Jamuna PrasadMPSP32238
195730BandaGENRaja Dinesh Singh MINC68353Bhupendra Nigam Alias Bhupat Babu.MPSP47811

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

Facts about current sitting MP of Banda Constituency

Name of MP Shri Bhairon Prasad Mishra
Age 60
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party Bharatiya Janata Party
Gender Male
Educational Qualification Intermediate
Activities of Shri Bhairon Prasad Mishra in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 1570
Private member bills passed 14
Questions asked 435
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Banda Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Banda parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
BaberuNaraini (SC)Banda

Last Updated on Sept 01, 2021