[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Track your constituency

About Dharmapuri Assembly Constituency

Dharmapuri is constituency No. 59 of Tamil Nadu assembly constituency. It is situated in the district that goes by the same name. Dharmapuri was the first constituency to emerge in Tamil Nadu after India's independence. It is an open constituency. According to the Election Commission of India, Dharmapuri has a total of 2,15,940 registered voters. It includes 1,10,117 male and 1,05,816 female voters. In the 2011 assembly elections, the Dharmapuri seat was won by DMDK party. Baskar A, the winning candidate, got 76,943 votes. His main contender, Santhamoorthy P. of PMK, got 72,900. The voter turnout was 77.92 %. It was an important maiden victory for the recently formed DMDK party.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Dharmapuri Assembly Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Dharmapuri assembly elections conducted so far.

YearA C No.Constituency NameCategoryWinnerSex PartyVotesRunner UpGenderPartyVotes
201159DharmapuriGENBaskar AMDMDK76943Santhamoorthy PMPMK72900
200682DharmapuriGENVelusamy. LMPMK76195Sampath V.SMMDMK45988
200182DharmapuriGENPary Mohan .KMPMK56147Manoharan.KMDMK45173
199682DharmapuriGENManokaran, K.MDMK63973Mase HarurMINC26951
199182DharmapuriGENPonnusamy P.MINC53910Chinnasamy R.MDMK27017
198982DharmapuriGENChinnasamy, R.MDMK32794Ponnuswamy, P.MINC20243
198482DharmapuriGENChinnasamy R.MDMK46383Aranganathan S.MADK37929
198082DharmapuriGENAranganathan, S.MADK33977Vadivel, D.N.MINC(I)32472
197782DharmapuriGENP.K.C. MuthuswamyMJNP26742D.S. ShanmugamMADK21556
197177DharmapuriGENR. ChinnasamyMDMK39861D. N. AdivelMNCO27834
196777DharmapuriGENM. S. GounterMDMK36258D. N. VadivelMINC29567

Last Updated on June 13, 2020

Latest Election News and Update

Paswan NDA Alliance Bihar Paswan Causing Trouble to Bihar NDA Alliance

Bihar Election 2020 is expected to take place around October-November this year. Before that, many political activities are taking place in Bihar. The recent one is the tussle between the Read More…

Most Powerful BJP CM Yogi Adityanath Yogi Is the Only Powerful BJP Chief Minister

Coronavirus pandemic is spreading in India at a faster pace. Initially, the center had taken things into hands. The Modi Government was at the forefront of the fight against the Read More…

Sonia Priyanka Rahul Gandhi Analysis: Congress Repeating BJP’s Mistake of 2008

Every newspaper and news website of India is now having a headline concerning India China border clash. The government is trying its level best to resolve the crisis as soon Read More…