[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Track your constituency

Alangudi Assembly Constituency Elections

About Alangudi Assembly Constituency

Alangudi is constituency No. 182 of Tamil Nadu legislative assembly. It is situated in Pudukkottai district and comes under the Sivaganga Lok Sabha constituency. It is an open constituency. According to the Election Commission of India, Alangudi has 1,68,687 registered voters. It comprises 84,337 male and 84,350 female registered voters. In the 2011 Assembly elections, the AIADMK won this seat by a narrow margin of 5,127 votes. Krishnan Kupa, the winning AIADMK candidate, got 57,250 votes. The nearest contender was Arulmani S. of PMK who got 52,123 votes. The voter turnout was 82.02 %.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Alangudi Assembly Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Alangudi assembly elections conducted so far.

YearA C No.Constituency NameCategoryWinnerSex PartyVotesRunner UpGenderPartyVotes
2006192AlangudiGENRajasekaran, SMCPI60122Venkatachalam, AMAIADMK50971
2001192AlangudiGENVenkadachalam.A.MADMK59631Soosairaj .S.A.MDMK42900
1996192AlangudiGENVenkatachalam A.MIND35345Erasasekaran S.MCPI34693
1991192AlangudiGENShanmuganathan S.MADK88684Chirtrarasu S.MDMK38983
1989192AlangudiGENChandrasekaran K.B. V.Sc.MDMK37361Purhparaju T.MINC33141
1984192AlangudiGENVenkatachalamMADK74202Periannan, A.MDMK37173
1980192AlangudiGENThirumaran, P.MADK59206Pushparaju, T.MINC(I)44605
1977192AlangudiGENT. PushparajuMINC37634P. ThirumaranMADK27059
1971167AlangudiGENK. V. SubbiahMDMK43279Ta. S. ThangaveluMNCO35397
1967167AlangudiGENK.V. SubbiahMDMK32984T.A.S.ThangaveluMINC32148

Last Updated on June 12, 2020

Latest Election News and Update

Paswan NDA Alliance Bihar Paswan Causing Trouble to Bihar NDA Alliance

Bihar Election 2020 is expected to take place around October-November this year. Before that, many political activities are taking place in Bihar. The recent one is the tussle between the Read More…

Most Powerful BJP CM Yogi Adityanath Yogi Is the Only Powerful BJP Chief Minister

Coronavirus pandemic is spreading in India at a faster pace. Initially, the center had taken things into hands. The Modi Government was at the forefront of the fight against the Read More…

Sonia Priyanka Rahul Gandhi Analysis: Congress Repeating BJP’s Mistake of 2008

Every newspaper and news website of India is now having a headline concerning India China border clash. The government is trying its level best to resolve the crisis as soon Read More…