Track your constituency

Live News

Namakkal Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

With a total number of 1,100,000 voters, Namakkal Parliamentary Constituency is one of the 39 Lok Sabha constituencies of Tamil Nadu and was formed after the delimitation of parliamentary constituencies in 2008 and has six legislative assembly segments. The total number of electorates in the Namakkal Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 16) according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports are 1,075,526 of which 540,515 are males and 535,011 are females. One each of these segments is reserved for the SC and the ST categories respectively. The Namakkal District has 4 talukas covering a total area of 3,420 sq km and is at an average height of 220 m.

The district has a population of about 1,726,601 of which 8.73% is under six years of age. About 51% of the population is male and the sex ratio is 986 females for every 1000 males. Hindus have a majority closely followed by Christians. Muslims, Buddhists, Sikhs, etc also reside here. It has an average literacy rate of 74% with male and female literacy at 83% and 67%. Tamil and English are the prevalent languages of the area. There are several prominent institutions in the area and the city has numerous public and private schools. Small scale industries, poultry farming and agriculture are the most common economic activities. National Highway NH-7 connect the district of Namakkal to various other cities.

-Namakkal Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Chinraj A.K.PDravida Munnetra Kazhagam6233700292362629355.24Winner
Kaliappan PAll India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam360541060136114231.851st Runner-up
Baskar BNaam Tamilar Katchi383940137385313.42nd Runner-up
Thangavelu RMakkal Needhi Maiam308420105309472.733rd Runner-up
Saminathan P.PIndependent23319028233472.064th Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above15007066150731.335th Runner-up
Vinothkumar VIndependent48530448570.436th Runner-up
Sakthiyvel N.K.SIndependent43980043980.397th Runner-up
Raman VBahujan Samaj Party35760335790.328th Runner-up
Saravanavel RIndependent29330229350.269th Runner-up
Kaliappan PIndependent26320026320.2310th Runner-up
Sakthivel SIndependent25430125440.2211th Runner-up
Natarajan MIndependent23600223620.2112th Runner-up
Vijayakarthikeyan BIndependent20440020440.1813th Runner-up
Ramasamy NIndependent18660218680.1614th Runner-up
Kaliyappan KIndependent18180318210.1615th Runner-up
Kaliappan SIndependent11770011770.116th Runner-up
Muthusamy M.P.Ganasangam Party Of India10110010110.0917th Runner-up
Ramesh TAhimsa Socialist Party967059720.0918th Runner-up
Manickam SUlzaipali Makkal Katchy777007770.0719th Runner-up
Arumugam VIndependent762007620.0720th Runner-up
Ramasamy PIndependent726007260.0621th Runner-up
Ramesh T.RIndependent683006830.0622th Runner-up
Senthilmurugan SDesiya Makkal Sakthi Katchi642026440.0623th Runner-up
Prabhu KIndependent587005870.0524th Runner-up
Nallathambi PIndependent526005260.0525th Runner-up
Cho VIndependent459004590.0426th Runner-up
Selvaraj K.RIndependent448004480.0427th Runner-up
Sivarajee SIndependent341003410.0328th Runner-up
Selladurai SIndependent288002880.0329th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Namakkal Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Namakkal parliamentary constituency of all the years fromthe starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Namakkal constituency is Shri Sundaram P.R of AIADMK.

YearPC No.PC NameCategoryWinner/Current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201416NamakkalGENSundaram P.RMAIADMK563272Gandhiselvan.SMDMK268898
200916NamakkalGENGandhiselvan,Shri S. MDMK371476Vairam Tamilarasi.VMADMK269045

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

List of Assembly Constituencies in Namakkal Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Namakkal parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
SankariRasipuram (SC)Senthamangalam (ST)
NamakkalParamathi VelurTiruchengode

Last Updated on July 6, 2019