About Vriddhachalam Assembly Constituency

Vriddhachalam is constituency No. 152 of Tamil Nadu legislative assembly. This unreserved constituency is situated in Cuddalore district. It was under Chidambaram Lok Sabha constituency before 2009. It is now a part of Cuddalore Lok Sabha constituency.

According to data with the Election Commission of India, this constituency has 1,95,908 registered voters. It has 1,00,101 male and 95,802 female registered voters.

In the 2011 assembly elections, this seat was won by DMK candidate V. Muthukumar. Muthukumar defeated his nearest rival, T. Neethirajan of INC, by a safe margin of 13,641 votes. Muthukumar got 72,902 votes while Neethirajan got 59,261. The voter turnout was 80.81 %.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Virudhachalam Assembly Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Virudhachalam assembly elections conducted so far.

YearA C No.Constituency NameCategoryWinnerSex PartyVotesRunner UpGenderPartyVotes
2011206VirudhachalamGENV. MuthukumarMDMDK72902T. NeethirajanMINC59261

Last Updated on May 13, 2016