Track your constituency

Live News

Kumbakonam (Tamil Nadu) Election Results 2016

Latest Election News and Update Bihar Exit Poll NDA Wins Bihar Election: Accurately Predicted by – Chintamani Exit Poll

The – Chintamani Exit poll for Bihar Election 2020 couldn’t have been more accurate to predict the win of NDA. When all the other exit polls had projected a Read More…

Bihar Election Result LIVE Update Bihar Election Results LIVE Updates

9:37:41 PM Mayawati’s BSP has secured 1 seat in Bihar Elections. While AIMIM had won 3 seats and is leading on 2. In the case of Left parties, CPI and Read More…

Bihar Exit Poll Unpredictability The Unpredictability of Exit Polls in Bihar Election

The Bihar Election 2020 Exit Polls have failed to give a uniform prediction about the winner. This means that the actual Bihar Election Result 2020 can swing in any direction. Read More…

Bihar Exit Poll 2020 Chintamani Exit Poll Predicts NDA’s Victory in Bihar Election 2020

Bihar has voted for the third and final phase of Bihar Election 2020. The result of the Bihar Election 2020 will be announced on 10 November. Prior to that, Chintamani Read More…

BJP Vote Share 2015 Analysis: Compared to Rivals, BJP’s Bihar Vote Share Swelled from 2005

Bihar is a state where the calculations of caste arithmetic and vote share hold tremendous importance for the political parties. Moreover, it can make or break the Bihar election result. Read More…

Bihar Election 2020: Key Candidates in the Ring for First Phase

The Bihar Election 2020 is commencing since the polling for the first phase is scheduled for 28 October 2020. In the first phase, 71 constituencies are witnessing the battle. Many Read More…

Tamil Nadu Assembly Election Results Live


About Kumbakonam Assembly Constituency

Kumbakonam is constituency No. 17 of Tamil Nadu legislative assembly. It is situated in Thanjavur district. It was a part of the erstwhile Kumbakonam Lok Sabha Constituency till 1977 before it got disbanded. This open constituency is now under Mayiladuturai Lok Sabha constituency.

According to the Election Commission of India, Kumbakonam has 2,00,372 registered voters. This includes 1,00,650 male and 99,722 female voters.

The Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) emerged victorious from this seat for the fourth consecutive time in 2011 assembly elections. Anbalagan G., the winning candidate, got 78,642 votes. He defeated his nearest contender, Eramanathan Rama of AIADMK, by a slim margin of 1,272 votes. The voter turnout was 80.64%.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Kumbakonam Assembly Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Kumbakonam assembly elections conducted so far.

YearA C No.Constituency NameCategoryWinnerSex PartyVotesRunner UpGenderPartyVotes
2001187KumbakonamGENMani Ko.Si.MDMK60515Eramanathan.RamaMADMK54019
1996187KumbakonamGENMani K.S.MDMK69849Eramanatham EramaMADMK34539
1991187KumbakonamGENEramanathan R.MADK67271Kumarasamy S.MJD30962
1989187KumbakonamGENMani K.S.MDMK36763Krishnamoorthy K.MINC29071
1984187KumbakonamGENKrishnamoorthy, K.MINC58334Kaliyanasudaram, S.MDMK20666
1980187KumbakonamGENPakeer Mohamed, E. S. M.MINC(I)45038Eradha, S. R.MADK35415
1977187KumbakonamGENS.R. EradhaMADK26432O. Vadivelu MazhavarayarMINC23450
1971173KumbakonamGENN. KasiramanMNCO39755S. PadmananbhanMDMK37136

Last Updated on May 13, 2016