About Chengalpattu Assembly Constituency

Chengalpattu is constituency No. 32 of Tamil Nadu legislative assembly. It comes under the Chengalpattu Lok Sabha Constituency. This unreserved assembly seat is situated in Kanchipuram district.

According to the Election Commission of India, Chengalpattu constituency has 2,52,409 registered voters out of which 1,27,482 are male and 1,24,874 are female voters.

In the 2011 assembly elections, the DMDK managed to win this seat by a very narrow margin of just 291 votes. D. Murugesan, the DMDK candidate, got 83,297 votes. His main opponent, V. G. Rangasamy, got 83,006. The voter turnout was 74.08 %. It was a significant win for the recently-formed DMDK party. Chengalpattu seat had been with the PMK for the preceding two consecutive terms.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Chengalpattu Assembly Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Chengalpattu assembly elections conducted so far.

YearA C No.Constituency NameCategoryWinnerSex PartyVotesRunner UpGenderPartyVotes
201132ChengalpattuGEND. MurugesanMDMDK83297V. G. RangasamyMPMK83006
200622ChengalpattuGENArumugam, KMPMK61664Arumugam, SMAIADMK51451
200122ChengalpattuGENArumugam KMPMK52465Viswanathan VMDMK47316
199622ChengalpattuGENTamilmani, V.MDMK66443Kumarasamy, C.V.N.MADMK29638
199122ChengalpattuGENVardarajan C.D.MADK51694Tamilmani V.MDMK34896
198922ChengalpattuGENV. TamilmaniMDMK38948C.D. VaradarajanMADK(JL)22607
198422ChengalpattuGENJegadesan, Annor, G.MADK45423Rudrakotti, V.MDMK44203
197722ChengalpattuGENJagadeesan AnoorMADK29306V. RudrakottiMDMK25436

Last Updated on May 13, 2016