Track your constituency

Live News

Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD)

Rashtriya Janata Dal Symbol

About Rashtriya Janata Dal

The Rashtriya Janata Dal or the "National People's Party" is a political party in India formed by Lalu Prasad Yadav on 5th July, 1997. Lalu Prasad Yadav who was the ex-President of the Janata Dal, was evicted from the party on charges of embezzlement over farm support funds in Bihar.
It was then that Yadav, along with Ranghuvansh Prasad Singh, Kanti Singh, 17 other Lok Sabha MPs, 8 Rajya Sabha MPs and thousands of his supporters came together in Delhi and founded the Rashtriya Janata Dal or RJD. RJD has its main base in Bihar, though it eventually became significant in the north-eastern states of Manipur and Nagaland. In Bihar, the Yadavs and Muslims, the majority of the population in Bihar, form the mass base of the party. Lalu Prasad Yadav is the President of RJD. Though the Election Commission gave the status of a national party to RJD in 2008, it was derecognised of that status in 2010.

From the time of its existence, the RJD has believed it would operate on the principles of social justice, social equality and secularism, following in the footsteps of the social revolutionary and modern thinker, Jay Prakash Narayan, popularly known as Loknayak. Narayans "Do or Die" spirit is the pioneering slogan for RJDs principled fight against oppression of the poor and backward sections of the society. The RJDs immense success in Bihar is due to the fact that it locates itself within the Gandhian values of non-violent resistance to communalism and casteism of any form.

RJD Candidates List for Bihar Elections 2015

AC No.AC NameCandidates NamePhase
148AlauliChandan Kumar 1      
147BakhriUpendra Paswan1
161BankaZaiful Hoda1
152BihpurVarsha Rani1
243ChakaiSavitri Devi1
241JamuiVijay Prakash1
162KatoriaSweety Sima Hembram1
137MohiuddinnagarEjya Yadav1
165MungerVijay Kumar Vijay1
237NawadaRajballabh Prasad1

Election Symbol and its significance

The Election Symbol of RJD, as approved by the Election Commission, is a hurricane lamp. There is immense significance attached to the symbol. The hurricane lamp is symbolic of light, of enlightenment, of literacy and of progress. This symbol is representative of the RJD to be the voice of the marginalized labourers, peasants, farmers and working sections of the society. The RJD claims to uphold the constitutional ideals of sovereign, socialist, secular, democratic republic by reaching to the grassroots levels. It is a progressive and modern-thinking political party that preaches to educate the backward sections of the society for their betterment and upliftment. The hurricane lamp is used to eradicate darkness and preach light and love. The RJD has a similar role as it believes that it can eradicate darkness of the oppressed sections of the society and bring in peace, prosperity and happiness in the lives of these people, and hence they use the symbol which indicates growth in society. The RJD is like an umbrella or shelter for people belonging to different castes and communities.

Leaders of RJD

The leaders of the RJD, who are also their national representatives and executives, are:
  • Lalu Prasad Yadav, President of the Rashtriya Janata Dal-Presently elected as a Member of Parliament to the 15th Lok Sabha from the Saran constituency in Bihar, Lalu Prasad has been one the most renowned Railway Ministers of the UPA government in India from 2004 to 2009. He as remained the Chief Minister of Bihar for two terms. Lalu is well-known for his easy mannerisms, his capacity to identify with all kinds of masses. He has received entry into the Limca Book of Records for being the longest-serving president of any political party. He was invited for lectures to world-class universities like Harvard and other Ivy League institutes in the USA, as well as revered by different celebrities from the world of Bollywood.
  • Dr. Raghuvansh Prasad Singh - A member of the RJD, Singh represents the Vaishali constituency of Bihar in the 15th Lok Sabha. He is the only Lok Sabha member to have won from this same constituency for 5 consecutive terms. He is an ex Union Minister for Rural Development.
  • Jagada Nand Singh - As a member of the RJD, he represents the Buxar constituency of Bihar in the 15th Lok Sabha.
  • Prabhunath Singh-A member of the RJD and of a Rajput origin, Prabhunath Singh represented the Maharajganj constituency of Bihar in the 14th Lok Sabha.
  • Ram Kripal Yadav - He is a member of the Rajya Sabha and an ex-member of the 14th Lok Sabha from the Patna constituency of Bihar. He takes an active part in sports activities and has remained President of a number of important sports delegations representing India.
  • Prem Chand Gupta-He is a member of the Rajya Sabha and was a cabinet minister of Ministry of Company Affairs in India. He represents Bihar.

Achievements of RJD

First as a national political party and then as a regional party, the RJD has made a number of significant contributions to the political scenario of the country. Some of these are listed below:
  • One of the principal frontal organizations of the RJD is its student wing, called the Yuva RJD. This was formed to include and mobilize the youth of Bihar, in channelizing towards growth and improvement in the state. It is one of the most vibrant youth factions present in the history of student politics in the country. Tejashwi Yadav is the main proponent of upholding the principles of democracy, secularism, social justice to the members of the Yuva RJD.
  • RJD formed an alliance with the Indian National Congress and other parties to form UPA-1 in the 2004 general elections. It performed very well in the 2000 state assembly elections.
  • Lalu Prasad Yadav, as the Railway Minister of India and Chief Minister of Bihar, has a number of contributions to his name. It is said that he revived the Indian Railways from a state of decadence and crisis, by bringing about a financial turnaround. He brought a surplus of about 90,000 crores, according to sources.
  • Lalu Prasad Yadav introduced the novel idea of 'Charwaha Vidyalay' or school for animal grazers.

Contact Details

  • Official Website of RJD-
  • Head-Office Address of RJD- 13, V.P. House Rafi Marg, New Delhi-110001
  • Contact Numbers- PHONE: 011 - 23357182
  • Email id: [email protected]

RJD Lok Sabha and Vidhan Sabha Election Results Year Wise

Lok SabhaVidhan Sabha
StateLatest YearSeats WonLatest YearSeats Won

Last Updated on July 20, 2021