Live News

Track your constituency
Live News

Kalvakuntla Chandrashekar Rao Biography

Kalvakuntla Chandrashekar Rao

Kalvakuntla Chandrashekar Rao

DOB Feb 17, 1954
Place of BirthChintamadaka, Andhra Pradesh
Political PartyTelangana Rashtra Samithi
EducationPost Graduate [(graduated with a law degree from Osmania University) Masters in Telugu Literature]
Spouse nameShobha Rao
Children1 Son 1 Daughter
Positions held
  • 1st Chief Minister of Telangana (Assumed office- 2 June 2014)
  • Minister of Labour and Employment (Government of India) ( 22 May 2004 - 22 May 2006)
  • Deputy Speaker of Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly ( 1999-2001)
  • Minister of Transport (Government of Andhra Pradesh) ( 1996-1999)
  • Minister of Drought & Relief (Government of Andhra Pradesh) ( 1987-1988)
  • Member of Parliament, Lok Sabha ( 2009-2014)
  • Member of the Legislative Assembly (Assumed office 2014)

About Kalvakuntla Chandrashekar Rao

Kalvakuntla Chandrashekar Rao (KCR) is an Indian politician and the first Chief Minister of Telangana state. He is also the founder of the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) party formed for the cause of a separate state of Telangana. He has been the Member of the Legislative Assembly (MLA) from different constituencies. He has also been a Member of Parliament and has also held the position of a cabinet minister for Labour and Employment. KCR played an important role in the formation of a separate Telangana state. Besides forming a separate political party, he also spearheaded the movement demanding a separate state. He began a fast-unto-death strike, just a few months after the death of YS Reddy, the then CM of Andhra Pradesh, on Novermber 29th, 2009. The strike ended 11 days later on December 9, 2009 when the Government of India declared the process for formation of the state of Telangana.

Personal life of Kalvakuntla Chandrashekar Rao

He was born on 17 February 1954 in Siddipet, Medak district of Hyderabad state
Apart from Politics: Social Activist

Positions held by Kalvakuntla Chandrashekar Rao

  • KVR has been the Member of Legislative Assembly (MLA) from Siddipet constituency consecutively for four times between the years 1985 and 1999.
  • He also held the position of the Deputy Speaker of the Andhra Assembly
  • He has also served as a Member of Parliament from Mahbubnagar constituency from 2009 to 2014.
  • He is the MLA of Gajwel constituency of Medak District, Telangana
  • 2 June 2014, he sworn in as the first Chief Minister of Telangana
You may also like to read
Know about Marpadi Veerappa Moily
Know Political Journey of Manmohan Singh
Know about Elections in India

Last Updated on June 24, 2020