Track your constituency

Live News

Balasore Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election, armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo — has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

One of the 21 Lok Sabha constituencies of the state of Odisha, Balasore or Baleshwar Constituency covers seven assemblies, two of which are reserved for the SC category, formed prior to the elections of the year 1951. According to Election Commission of India 2009 data the total electorates in the
Balasore Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 6) were 1,269,342 of which 616,264 are females and 653,078 are males. The city of Balasore is the headquarters of administration in the Balasore District and is famous for being the site of Integrated Test Range for the Indian Ballistic Missile Defense Program. It lies in north Odisha at a distance of about 192 kms from Bhubaneswar, at a height of 16 metres. The District of Balasore covers an area of 3,634 sq kms. 

Balasore Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

According to 2011 census, the city had a population of over 1,18,000 and the Metro population in the district was about 1,77,500, making it one of the top ten most populous cities of the state. Males comprise about 52% of the total population and 11% consists of children below the age of six. The sex ratio of the District is 957 females per 1,000 males. The average literacy rate of the city is 86% with male literacy rate being 88% and female literacy being 76%.

It is the education hub of north Odisha and is home to the premier centre of Fakir Mohan University as well as several engineering, medical as well as law colleges. Agriculture as well as fishing is the main source of income here. National Highways NH-5 and NH-60 place Balasore on the road network of the Golden Quadrilateral.

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Pratap Chandra SarangiBharatiya Janata Party4814380242048385841.79Winner
Rabindra Kumar JenaBiju Janata Dal470242066047090240.671st Runner-up
Navajyoti PatnaikIndian National Congress179070033317940315.492nd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above742201474360.643rd Runner-up
Haji Sk Abdul IstarAll India Trinamool Congress38980239000.344th Runner-up
Saroj Kumar PandaIndependent25800225820.225th Runner-up
Ramanath BarikIndependent24510324540.216th Runner-up
Jadunath SethiIndependent16750116760.147th Runner-up
Basantalata PattanayakIndependent14190314220.128th Runner-up
Mohammed AlliAmbedkar National Congress13490713560.129th Runner-up
Ramakanta PandaPurvanchal Janta Party (Secular)12410012410.1110th Runner-up
SubhashPragatishil Samajwadi Party (Lohia)823028250.0711th Runner-up
Jagannath DasIndependent813038160.0712th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Balasore Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Balasore parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Balasore constituency is Shri Rabindra Kumar Jena of BJD.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
20146BalasoreGENRabindra Kumar JenaMBJD433768Pratap Chandra SarangiMBJP291943
20096BalasoreGENJena,Shri Srikant Kumar MINC313888Arun DeyMNCP274988
20042BalasoreGENMahamegha Bahan Aira Kharbela SwainMBJP553087Niranjan PandaMINC316132
19992BalasoreGENMahameghabahan Aira Kharabela SwainMBJP428070Subhankar MohapatraMINC291698
19982BalasoreGENMahameghabhan Aira Kharabela SwainMBJP421068Kartik MohapatraMINC337066
19962BalasoreGENKartik MohapatraMINC411168Arun DeyMIND220487
19912BalasoreGENKartikeswar PatraMINC266139Samarendra KunduMJD252921
19892BalasoreGENSamarendra KunduMJD362537Chintamani JenaMINC244733
19842BalasoreGENChintamani JenaMINC274294Samarendra KunduMJNP195109
19802BalasoreGENChintamani JenaMINC(I)229040Samarendra KunduMJNP89151
19772BalasoreGENSamarendra KunduMBLD190219Shyam Sundar MahapatraMINC130758
19712BalasoreGENShyamsundar MohapatraMINC98926Samarendra KunduMPSP75139
19672BalasoreGENS. KunduMPSP113022K. K. PattanayakMINC77653
196219BalasoreGENGokulananda MahantyMINC33824Mahendra MajhiMGP26545
19578BalasoreGENKanhu Charan JenaMINC158978Sidheswar JenaMPSP124795
19578BalasoreGENBhagbat Sahu MINC145163Karunakar DasMPSP117065
195110BalasoreGENKanhu Charan JenaMINC205151Sidheswar JenaMSP94005
195110BalasoreGENBhagabat Sahu MINC151813Nityananda MahapatraMSP77024

List of Assembly Constituencies in Balasore Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Balasore parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Badasahi (SC) Jaleswar Bhograi
Basta Balasore Remuna (SC)

Last Updated on July 12, 2019