Track your constituency

Live News

Shirur Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

Latest Election News and Update

Jharkhand Lockdown Extended till June 10

The Hemant Soren-led government in Jharkhand extended the lockdown restrictions till June 10 though there will be some relaxations in curbs.    The state has been in lockdown since April 22. The first set of lockdown regulations were imposed for a week since then it is the fourth time that the lockdown regulations are extended. […]

Google Doodle Commemorates American Gay Rights Activist Frank Kameny

Google Doodle commemorates prominent American astrologer and gay rights activist Frank Kameny. Frank Kameny was personally invested in the cause of the gay rights movement because of the prejudice he faced in his life.    Growing up during the great depression in the 1930s Frank Kameny realized he wanted to become an astrologer. He graduated […]

Joe Biden Tells Intelligence Community To Report On The Emergence Of Covid 19 Within 90 Days

The President of the United States of America Joe Biden called the US intelligence community to report on the origin of coronavirus. There are various theories circulating about the possible origin of Covid 19. Joe Biden asked the US intelligence to revert back with ‘sufficient information’ on the event within 90 days. The United States […]

america provides assistance to india The United States Of America provides $500 million in assistance to India

The second wave of coronavirus has been more catastrophic than the first. More than half of the admissions during the second wave required supplemental oxygen during treatment. The Scarcity of medical infrastructure in the nation collapsed the health system. To aid the nation, crucial foreign assistance arrived.  In these critical times, America provides over $500 […]

Jharkhand Assembly Election Results Live Updates 2019

The Raghubar Das led Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP) is looking at a crucial setback in the state of Jharkhand as the Hemant Soren led opposition alliance is marching towards the majority mark. The alliance that includes Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM), Congress and Rashtriya Janta Dal (RJD) has maintained considerable leads on 41 out of the […]

Nationalism Doesn’t Seem to Work in BJP’s Jharkhand Campaign

Jharkhand Assembly Election 2019 is done with the voting on 20th December. All the parties are longing for Monday to finally get to know if there will be anti-incumbency or regain of the power. Jharkhand has never had a full-term government until 2014 when BJP won the elections and provided a stable government for full […]

Shirur is one of the 48 constituencies of the state of Maharashtra and is fondly called “Ghodnadi” which means “River Ghod” in the local language. The total number of electorates in the Shirur Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 36) according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports are 1,630,466 of which 859,730 are males and 770,736 are females. Located in the Pune district, it is home to over 27,000 people of which 52% are males. Covering an area of 1,500 sq km, Shirur lies on the banks of River Ghod. It shares its borders with Pune and Ahmednagar. The city boasts of a literacy rate of 72%, with male literacy at almost 60% and female literacy at 66%. It has several schools and colleges and also serves as an important educational centre for the talukas of Parner and Shrigonda as well. It came into existence in the year 2008 due to delimitation of the parliamentary and legislative assemblies.

Marathi is the local language of this area and is also the medium of literacy in the municipal schools. Shirur houses people of various religions and castes. Hindus of the Mallav Samaj live here alongside Muslims, Jains and Christians in harmony.

The climate and the soil of the area are suitable for the harvest of wheat, sugarcane, sweet lime and oranges. Companies like Apollo Tyres, LG Electronics and Whirlpool India are amongst the many which helped in boosting up of the industrial aspects of this constituency.

Shirur Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Dr. Amol Ramsing KolheNationalist Congress Party6345540127663583049.17Winner
Adhalrao Shivaji DattatreyShivsena5760020134557734744.651st Runner-up
Ovhal RahulVanchit Bahujan Aaghadi38028042380702.942nd Runner-up
Kagadi Jamirkhan AfjalBahujan Samaj Party72390872470.563rd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above602602560510.474th Runner-up
Chhaya Prabhakar SolankeIndependent49250549300.385th Runner-up
Bhausaheb Ramchandra AdagaleIndependent43970043970.346th Runner-up
Waheeda Shainur ShaikhIndependent38360138370.37th Runner-up
Ghadge Balasaheb JaysingIndependent27490027490.218th Runner-up
Shashikant Rajaram DesaiIndependent18800118810.159th Runner-up
Prof.Shrikant Nivrutti Chabukswar SirBahujan Mukti Party12410212430.110th Runner-up
Ghare Mohan DamodarBaliraja Party996019970.0811th Runner-up
Gangadhar Nathu YadavIndependent955009550.0712th Runner-up
Vinod Vasant ChandgudeIndependent901019020.0713th Runner-up
Ansari Samshad AnwarIndependent826028280.0614th Runner-up
Ashtul Vikas RajaramIndependent786007860.0615th Runner-up
Somnath Hiraman MaliBahujan Republican Socialist Party741027430.0616th Runner-up
Sonalitai ThoratIndependent676016770.0517th Runner-up
Shivajirao Uttamrao PawarIndependent670036730.0518th Runner-up
Sanjay Laxman PadwalBhartiya Navjawan Sena (Paksha)627036300.0519th Runner-up
Sanjay Baba BansodeBhartiyabahujankranti Dal615006150.0520th Runner-up
Nitin Murlidhar KuchekarBharat Prabhat Party604036070.0521th Runner-up
Shahid Farukh ShaikhIndependent566005660.0422th Runner-up
Shaikh RaisaBhartiya Kisan Party555015560.0423th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Shirur Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Shirur parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Shirur constituency is Shri Adhalrao Shivaji Dattatrey of SHS.

YearPC No.PC NameCategoryWinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
201436ShirurGENAdhalrao Shivaji DattatreyMSHS643415Nikam Devdatta JaywantMNCP341601
200936ShirurGENAdhalrao Patil,Shri Shivaji MSHS482563Vilas Vithoba LandeMNCP303952

List of Assembly Constituencies in Shirur Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Shirur parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
JunnarAmbegaonKhed Alandi

Last Updated on July 3, 2019