Track your constituency

Live News

Mumbai-South Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Mumbai South Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Arvind Ganpat SawantShivsena4205300140742193752.64Winner
Deora Milind MurliIndian National Congress321362050832187040.151st Runner-up
Dr. Anil KumarVanchit Bahujan Aaghadi302130135303483.792nd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above15071044151151.893rd Runner-up
Gautam Sureshkumar MistrilalBahujan Samaj Party43200943290.544th Runner-up
Sai ShrivastavIndependent16700116710.215th Runner-up
Irfan ShaikhAmbedkarite Party Of India13910013910.176th Runner-up
Shehbaj RathodJai Maha Bharath Party13470013470.177th Runner-up
Shankar SonawaneIndependent876038790.118th Runner-up
Adv. Ramchandra N. KachaveKranti Kari Jai Hind Sena735027370.099th Runner-up
Abbas F. ChhatriwalaJan Adhikar Party528005280.0710th Runner-up
Adv. Sahil L . ShahBhartiya Manavadhikaar Federal Party513015140.0611th Runner-up
Hamir Kalidas VinjudaBahujan Republican Socialist Party496004960.0612th Runner-up
Rajesh B. DayalIndependent449004490.0613th Runner-up

Mumbai South Lok Sabha Election 2014 Summary

The BJP-Shiv Sena made a clean sweep in Mumbai South constituency with Shiv Sena's Arvind Sawant
making a dent in the vote bank of Union Minister of State for Communication and Information Technology, Milind Deora, by defeating him by a margin of 128148 votes. Arvind garnered 374780 votes, while Deora had to contend with 246632 votes only. Bala Nandgaonkar of Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) came third with 84864 votes.

In both the last Lok Sabha elections, the Congress-NCP alliance had won this seat. In 2004, Milind had defeated Jayawantiben Mehta of BJP, while in 2009 he had defeated Bala Nandgaonkar of MNS.

Mumbai South is one of Maharashtra's 48 Lok Sabha constituencies and was formed before 1951. The total number of electorates in the Mumbai South Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 31) according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports are 1,589,811 of which 904,733 are males and 685,078 are females. It consists of six Vidhan Sabha segments and is one of the six parliamentary constituencies belonging to the Mumbai Metropolitan. Mumbai is the capital city of Maharashtra and is India's most populated city as well as the fourth most densely populated city of the world. It sprawls over a total area of 4,355 sq km and has an altitude of only 14 m. It is located along the Arabian Sea on the west coast of India at the mouth of River Ulhas.

According to 2011 India census data, the total population of Mumbai Metro is 18,414,288 of which male and female population are 9,894,088 and 8,520,200 respectively. It has an average literacy rate of 90.78% with male and female literacy rates being 93.85% and 87.19% respectively. With a sex ratio of 852 females for every 1000 males, the city has a population density of 20,482 inhabitants per sq km. Over fifteen languages are spoken here including Marathi, Hindi and English. About 67.39% of the population comprises of Hindus. It is the richest city of the country and is also home to the Hindi Film Industry, Bollywood. National Highways of NH-3, NH-4, NH-8, NH-17 and NH-22 are connected to the city.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Mumbai-South Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Mumbai-South parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Mumbai South constituency is Shri Arvind Sawant of SHS.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201431Mumbai-SouthGENArvind SawantMSHS374780Deora Milind MurliMINC246632
200931Mumbai-SouthGENMilind Murli DeoraMINC272411Bala NandgaonkarMMNS159729
20044Mumbai-SouthGENMilind Murli DeoraMINC137956Jayawantiben MehtaMBJP127710
19994Mumbai-SouthGENJayawanti MehtaFBJP144945Murli DeoraMINC134702
19984Mumbai-SouthGENDeora MurliMINC178597Jayawantiben MehtaMBJP157532
19964Mumbai-SouthGENJayawantiben MehtaMBJP138831Murli DeoraMINC115623
19914Mumbai-SouthGENDeora MurliMINC147576Sharma Premkumar ShankarduttMBJP121820
19894Mumbai-SouthGENDeora MurliMINC178986Sharma Premkumar ShankardattMBJP161247
19844Mumbai-SouthGENDeora MurliMINC200152Jayawantiben Navinchandra MehtaFBJP94874
19804Bombay SouthGENRajda Ratasinh GokuldasMJNP161557Deora Murli SitaramMINC(I)146387
19774Bombay SouthGENRajada Ratansingh GokuldasMBLD226893Ankleshwaria Ramanlal ChhotalalMINC162499
19714Bombay SouthGENKailas Narain Narula ShivnarainMINC138408Tata Naval HormasjiMIND118659
19674Bombay SouthGENG. FernandesMSSP147841S. K. Patil MINC118407
19621Bombay SouthGENSadashiv Kanoji PatilMINC154570Lalji Moreshwar Pendse MIND53943
195722Bombay SouthGENPatil Sadashiv KanojiMINC140365Mulgaokar Anant Ganpat MBJS80449
195135Bombay SouthGENPatil Sadashiv KanojiMINC96302Purshottamdas TrikamdasMSP61215

List of Assembly Constituencies in Mumbai-South Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Mumbai-South parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Malabar HillMumbadeviColaba

Last Updated on July 3, 2019