Track your constituency

Live News

Mumbai-North-East Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

Mumbai North-East is one of the 48 constituencies of the state of Maharashtra, formed prior to the 1967 elections. According to Election Commission of India 2009 data the total electorates in the Mumbai North East Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 1) were 1,572,890 of which 700,239 are females and 872,651 are males. It has six Vidhan Sabha segments and it is one of the six constituencies representing Mumbai Metropolitan. Mumbai is the state capital of Maharashtra and is also India’s most populated city as well as the world’s fourth most populated city. It has an area of 4,355 sq km and stands at a height of 14 m. It is situated on the Western Coastal Plains along the Arabian Sea.

As per the 2011 India census data, it has a total population of 18,414,288 with male and female population being 9,894,088 and 8,520,200. It has an average literacy rate of 90.78% with male and female literacy rate of 93.85% and 87.19% respectively. The city has a sex ratio of 852 females per 1000 males and a population density of 20,482 people per sq km. Over fifteen languages are spoken by the people of Mumbai including those of Marathi, Hindi, English, Urdu and Gujarati. About 67.39% of the population is Hindu while several other ethnic groups also reside here. It is the richest city of the country and is also home to the Hindi Film Industry, Bollywood. National Highways NH-3, NH-4, NH-8, NH-17 and NH-22 are connected to the city.

Mumbai North East Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Manoj KotakBharatiya Janata Party5135790102051459956.61Winner
Patil Sanjay DinaNationalist Congress Party287555055828811331.71st Runner-up
Niharika Prakashchandra KhondalayVanchit Bahujan Aaghadi680890150682397.512nd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above12446020124661.373rd Runner-up
Sanjay Chandrabahadur Singh (Kunwar)Bahujan Samaj Party77700777770.864th Runner-up
Shahajirao Dhondiba ThoratIndependent20630020630.235th Runner-up
Jaywant Shriram Sawant (Pappa)Independent18780318810.216th Runner-up
Jatin Rangrao HarneIndependent15730015730.177th Runner-up
Adv. Ganesh IyerBahujan Maha Party13360013360.158th Runner-up
Kurhade Sneha RavindraIndependent12670012670.149th Runner-up
Shahina Parveen Shakil Ahmed KhanIndependent834008340.0910th Runner-up
Sushma MauryaJan Adhikar Party820008200.0911th Runner-up
Jitendra Kumar Nanaku PalIndependent779007790.0912th Runner-up
Shrikant Suburao ShindeBahujan Mukti Party726017270.0813th Runner-up
Dandge Sukhdev ChanduAmbedkarite Party Of India711007110.0814th Runner-up
Anil Hebbar KoniIndependent677006770.0715th Runner-up
Bhaskar Mohan GaudIndependent629006290.0716th Runner-up
Shahenaz Begum Mohd Siraj KhanRashtriya Ulama Council569015700.0617th Runner-up
Nutan Sharad Kumar SinghAapki Apni Party (Peoples)565015660.0618th Runner-up
Vinod Narayan ChauguleSanatan Sanskriti Raksha Dal564005640.0619th Runner-up
Jayashri Minesh ShahBhartiya Manavadhikaar Federal Party535015360.0620th Runner-up
Adv. Vijay Janardan ShiktodeBahujan Republican Socialist Party462014630.0521th Runner-up
Pravin Chandrakant KedareIndependent388003880.0422th Runner-up
Thoke Baban SopanIndependent344003440.0423th Runner-up
Dayanand Jagannath SohaniIndependent296002960.0324th Runner-up
Deepak Digambar ShindeIndependent291012920.0325th Runner-up
Nilesh Ramchandra KudtarkarIndependent264002640.0326th Runner-up
Rakesh Sambhaji RaulIndependent218012190.0227th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Mumbai-North-East Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Mumbai-North-East parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Mumbai North East constituency is Shri Kirit Somaiya of BJP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201428Mumbai-North-EastGENKirit SomaiyaMBJP525285Sanjay Dina PatilMNCP208163
200928Mumbai-North-EastGENSanjay Dina PatilMNCP213505Kirit SomaiyaMBJP210572
20047Mumbai-North-EastGENKamat GurudasMINC493420Kirit SomaiyaMBJP394020
19997Mumbai-North-EastGENKirit SomaiyaMBJP400436Adv Kamat GurudasMINC393160
19987Mumbai-North-EastGENGurudas KamatMINC525911Pramod MahajanMBJP478459
19967Mumbai-North-EastGENPramod MahajanMBJP428825Gurudas KamatMINC237262
19917Mumbai-North-EastGENGuradas KamatMINC337660Mehta Jayawanti NavinchandraFBJP278536
19897Mumbai-North-EastGENMehta Jayawanti NavinchandraFBJP414282Gurudas KamatMINC342727
19847Mumbai-North-EastGENGurudas KamatMINC273847Pramod MahajanMBJP177573
19807Bombay North EastGENSubramanian SwamyMJNP199472D. N. ChaulkarMINC(I)160566
19777Bombay North EastGENSubramaniam SwamyMBLD260699Kulkarni Rajaram Alias Raja GopalMINC137577
19718Bombay North EastGENRajaram Gopal Kulkarni Alias RajaMINC283792Mukundrao Sundarrao AgaskarMBJS108513
19678Bombay North EastGENS. G. BarveMINC171902V. K. K. Menon MIND158733
1967By PollsBombay North EastGENS.T.GovindMINC156313V.K.K.MenonMIND141257

List of Assembly Constituencies in Mumbai-North-East Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Mumbai-North-East parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
MulundVikhroliBhandup West
Ghatkopar WestGhatkopar EastMankhurd Shivaji Nagar

Last Updated on july 3, 2019