Live News
Track your constituency
Live News

Lakshadweep General (Lok Sabha) Election Results 2019 Update

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Lakshadweep Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Mohammed Faizal PpNationalist Congress Party227960552285148.61Winner
Hamdullah SayeedIndian National Congress219800482202846.861st Runner-up
Dr. Mohammed Sadique KpJanata Dal (United)13390313422.852nd Runner-up
Shareef KhanCommunist Party Of India (Marxist)419014200.893rd Runner-up
Ali Akbar K.Communist Party Of India141021430.34th Runner-up
Abdul Khader HajiBharatiya Janata Party1030221250.275th Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above99011000.216th Runner-up

Election Schedule for Lakshadweep Lok Sabha General Election 2019

StatePhase IPhase II Phase III Phase IV Phase V Phase VIPhase VII

Quick facts for Lakshadweep Elections

Parliamentary Constituencies1
Assembly Constituencies -
Ruling Party-
Opposition Party-
Chief Minister-
GovernorFarooq Khan
Chief Electoral OfficerDr. N. Vasantha Kumar
AddressElection Department U T Lakshadweep, Kavaratti 682 555

Lakshadweep Lok Sabha Election Summary 2014

National Congress Party (NCP) won the lone constituency of Lakshadweep. Established in the year 1956, Lakshadweep island comprises of 36 islands. Being a Union Territory, Lakshadweep is not headed by any political party in general, but, by the Governor. H. Rajesh Prasad is the present Governor of the Lakshdweep. The Indian National Congress (INC) has a stronghold in the UT. Lakshdweep is represented by a single constituency in the Parliament, which is reserved for the Scheduled Tribes. The 16th Lok Sabha elections which took place in the UT were held in the month of April-May 2014.

Lakshadweep Lok Sabha Election Results 2014

Lakshadweep- comprises of group of 36 island and was formed on November 1, 1956. The Union Territory of Lakshadeep is represented in the Indian Parliament through a single constituency. It is called the Lakshadeep constituency. Lakshadeep was formerly called the Laccadive, Minicoy and Amindivi Islands Lok Sabha constituency. According to Election Commission of India 2009 data the total electorates in the Lakshadweep Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 1) were 45,983 of which 22,481 are females and 23,502 are males.

It is reserved for candidates belonging to the Scheduled Tribes. A Congress stronghold to date, Lakshadeep has had P.M. Sayeed as its most popular political leader, who is a Congress MP and has retained this seat from 1967 to 1999. The Union Territory of Lakshadeep has a total population of around 64,429, as per the 2011 Census records. The main industry is fibre extraction and manufacturing, and this provides the bulk of the economic stability in this region, besides the tourism sector, which substantially adds to the revenue generated in this Union Territory. Coir manufacturing industries are renowned in Lakshadeep.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Lakshadweep Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Lakshadweep parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now. It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Lakshadweep constituency is Mohammed Faizal P.P. of NCP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
20141Lakshadweep(ST)Mohammed Faizal P.P.MNCP21665INCMinc20130
20091Lakshadweep(ST)Sayeed,Shri Hamdullah MINC20492Dr. PookunhikoyaMNCP18294
20041Lakshadweep(ST)Dr. P. PookunhikoyaMJD(U)15597P. M. SayeedMINC15526
19991Lakshadweep(ST)P.M. SayeedMINC16113Dr. K.P. MuthukoyaMJD(U)12924
19981Lakshadweep(ST)P.M. SayeedMINC16014Dr. Mahammed Koya KunnamkulamMJD15050
19961Lakshadweep(ST)P M SayeedMINC15611Mohammedkoya KunnamkulamMJD14577
19911Lakshadweep(ST)P.M. SayeedMINC12801Mohammed Koya KunnamkulamMJD12520
19891Lakshadweep(ST)P. M. SayeedMINC13323Mohammed Koya KunnamkulamMIND12167
19841LakshadweepGENMohammad Sayeed PadannathaMINC10361Mohammadkoya KunnamakulamMIND8662
19801Lakshadweep(ST)Muhammad Sayeed PadannathaMINC(U)10018Mohammed Koya KunnamkalamMJNP7069
19771Lakshadweep(ST)Muhammed Sayeed PadannathaMINC9600Mohammed Koya KunnamkalamMIND6786

List of Administrators in Lakshadweep

S. No.Chief MinisterFromToParty Name
1Pinarayi VijayanMay 25, 2016Present CPM
2Shri Oommen ChandyMay 18, 2011May 25, 2016INC
3Shri V.S. AchuthanandanMay 18, 2006May 14, 2011CPM
4Shri Oommen ChandyAug 31, 2004May 18, 2006INC
5Shri A. K. AntonyMay 17, 2001Aug 29, 2004INC
6Shri E. K. NayanarMay 20, 1996May 13, 2001CPM
7Shri A. K. AntonyMar 22, 1995May 9, 1996INC
8Shri K. KarunakaranJun 24, 1991Mar 16, 1995INC
9Shri E. K. NayanarMar 26, 1987Jun 17, 1991CPM
10Shri K. KarunakaranMay 24, 1982Mar 25, 1987INC
11Shri K. KarunakaranDec 28, 1981Mar 17, 1982INC
12Shri E. K. NayanarJan 25, 1980Oct 20, 1981CPM
13President's RuleDec 1, 1979Jan 25, 1980 
14Shri C. H. Mohammed KoyaOct 12, 1979Dec 1, 1979MUL
15Shri P. K. Vasudevan NairOct 29, 1978Oct 7, 1979CPI
16Shri A.K. AntonyApr 27, 1977Oct 27, 1978INC
17Shri K. KarunakaranMar 25, 1977Apr 25, 1977INC
18Shri C. Achutha MenonOct 4, 1970Mar 25, 1977CPI
19President's RuleAug 1, 1970Oct 4, 1970 
20Shri C. Achutha MenonNov 1, 1969Aug 1, 1970CPI
21Shri E. M. S. NamboodiripadMar 6, 1967Nov 1, 1969CPM
22President's RuleSep 10, 1964Mar 6, 1967 
23Shri R. SankarSep 26, 1962Sep 10, 1964INC
24Shri Pattom ThanupillaiFeb 22, 1960Sep 26, 1962Praja Socialist Party
25President's RuleJul 31, 1959Feb 22, 1960 
26Shri E. M. S. NamboodiripadApr 5, 1957Jul 31, 1959CPI

Last Updated on 11 May, 2020

Live at 6 PM | Bihar Exit Poll | Exit Poll

Live at 5PM | Bihar Elections - ओवैसी का बुख़ार महागठबंधन को | Sanjay Dixit