Live News

Track your constituency
Live News

Wayanad General Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

A Congress stronghold, the Lok Sabha constituency of Wayanad is a recently-formed parliamentary seat in the Indian state of Kerala (2008). The total number of electorates in the Wayanad Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 4) according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports are 1,102,097 of which 543,764 are males and 558,333 are females. It is situated in the Wayanad district, which lies in the northeastern parts of Kerala and houses various tribal groups of the state. With a population of 816,558, as per the 2011 Census, the Wayanad district is the least populated region in Kerala.

Economically, the Wayanad district is dependent primarily on agriculture, which constitutes the bulk of the economy. Besides rice, which is an important crop grown in the district, others are oranges, pepper, cocoa, vanilla and tea. This district has not witnessed any major urbanisation owing to a relatively heavy tribal presence, and thus remains one of the poorest districts in the state. This constituency of Wayanad has been enlisted as one of the 250 economically backward districts of the country. Thus, the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme of the government sustains the economic needs of this district. Out of the seven Vidhan Sabha segments which constitute this parliamentary constituency of Wayanad, Mananthavady, Wandoor and Sultan Bathery are reserved for candidates belonging to the marginalised sections of the society.

Wayanad Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Rahul GandhiIndian National Congress70636764.67Winner
P.P. SuneerCommunist Party Of India27459725.141st Runner-up
Thushar VellappallyBharath Dharma Jana Sena788167.222nd Runner-up
Babu ManiSocial Democratic Party Of India54260.53rd Runner-up
Shijo M VargheseIndependent41110.384th Runner-up
Mujeeb RahmanIndependent26920.255th Runner-up
Mohamed P KBahujan Samaj Party26910.256th Runner-up
Rahul Gandhi K E S/O ValsammaIndependent21960.27th Runner-up
Siby VayalilIndependent21640.28th Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above21550.29th Runner-up
Biju KakkathodeIndependent20900.1910th Runner-up
Dr. K PadmarajanIndependent18870.1711th Runner-up
Usha KCommunist Party Of India (Marxist-Leninist) Red Star14240.1312th Runner-up
Adv. Sreejith P RIndependent12080.1113th Runner-up
Praveen K PIndependent11020.114th Runner-up
Raghul Gandhi K S/O Krishnan PAgila India Makkal Kazhagam8450.0815th Runner-up
Sebastian WayanadIndependent5500.0516th Runner-up
John P PSecular Democratic Congress5440.0517th Runner-up
Thrissur NazeerIndependent5230.0518th Runner-up
Narukara GopiIndependent4890.0419th Runner-up
K M Sivaprasad GandhiIndian Gandhiyan Party3200.0320th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Wayanad Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Wayanad parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Wayanad constituency is Shri M. I. Shanavas of INC.
Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
20143VatakaraGENMullappally Ramachandran M INC 416479 Adv.A.N.Shamseer M CPM 413173
20093VatakaraGENRamachandran MullappallyMINC421255Adv. P. SatheedeviMCPM365069
20043BadagaraGENP. SatheedeviFCPM429294M T PadmaMINC298705
19993BadagaraGENA.K. PremajamFCPM404355P.M. Suresh BabuMINC378511
19983BadagaraGENA.K. PremajamFCPM407876P.M. Suresh BabuMINC348715
19963BadagaraGENO. BharathanMCPM415895Unnikrishnan K.PMINC335950
19913BadagaraGENUnnikrishnan K.P. (Scs)MICS(SCS)395501M. RatnasinghMIND378012
19893BadagaraGENK. P. UnnikrishnanMICS(SCS)370434A. SujanapalMINC362225
19843BadagaraGENK. P. UnnikrishnanMICS270416K. M. RadhakrishnanMIND259437
19803BadagaraGENK.P. UnnikrishnanMINC(U)271796Mullappally RamachandranMINC(I)230114
19773BadagaraGENK. P. UnnikrishnanMINC253462Arangil SreedharanMBLD245392
19713BadagaraGENK. P. UnnikrishnanMINC198939A. V. Raghavan MIND141135
19673BadagaraGENA. SreedharanMSSP215597M. K. PrabhakaranMINC115094
19623BadagaraGENA. V. RaghavanMIND204315K. B. Menon MPSP131408
195715BadagaraGENMenon K. B.MPSP111425Gopalan KaripurMINC92606

List of Assembly Constituencies in Wayanad Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Wayanad parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Mananthavady (ST) Sulthan Bathery (ST) Kalpetta
Thiruvambady Eranad Nilambur
Wandoor (SC)  

Last Updated on July 04, 2020
Live at 6 PM | Bihar Exit Poll | Exit Poll

Live at 5PM | Bihar Elections - ओवैसी का बुख़ार महागठबंधन को | Sanjay Dixit