Live News

Track your constituency
Live News

Vatakara General Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

One of the 20 Lok Sabha seats in the southern Indian state of Kerala is Vatakara, which is also known as Badagara. This constituency in the state had as its most renowned political leader, the Congress MP K. P. Unnikrishnan. Unnikrishnan received the support of masses in Vatakara for two decades in a row, being elected as MP from 1971 to 1991.

The Vatakara Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 3) consists of 1,071,171 number of electorates in totality, of these 505,692 are males and 565,479 are females as the Election commission of India 2009 data suggests. This Lok Sabha constituency is situated in the Vatakara taluk, with the coastal municipality of Vatakara being the administrative headquarters of the taluk. Being a coastal region, the primary occupation of the land is fishing, which constitutes the bulk of the economy. Commercial and trading centres in the region dot this parliamentary constituency. A total of seven assembly segments comprise this parliamentary constituency of Vatakara. The Communist Party of India (Marxist) has been representing this seat for the last few Lok Sabha elections.

Vatakara Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
K. MuraleedharanIndian National Congress52675549.43Winner
P.JayarajanCommunist Party Of India (Marxist)44209241.491st Runner-up
Adv.V.K.SajeevanBharatiya Janata Party801287.522nd Runner-up
Musthafa KommeriSocial Democratic Party Of India55440.523rd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above34150.324th Runner-up
Jatheesh.A.PNational Labour Party28330.275th Runner-up
Santhosh KumarIndependent12950.126th Runner-up
Muraleedharan.K SandramIndependent9100.097th Runner-up
Jayarajan PandaraparambilIndependent6900.068th Runner-up
C.O.T. NaseerIndependent6120.069th Runner-up
Muraleedharan.K Kuttiyil VeeduIndependent5970.0610th Runner-up
Advocate K.SudhakaranCommunist Party Of India (Marxist-Leninist) Red Star5070.0511th Runner-up
Aluva AneeshIndependent2410.0212th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Vatakara Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Vatakara parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Vatakara constituency is Shri Ramachandran Mullappally of INC.
Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
20143VatakaraGENMullappally Ramachandran M INC 416479 Adv.A.N.Shamseer M CPM 413173
20093VatakaraGENRamachandran MullappallyMINC421255Adv. P. SatheedeviMCPM365069
20043BadagaraGENP. SatheedeviFCPM429294M T PadmaMINC298705
19993BadagaraGENA.K. PremajamFCPM404355P.M. Suresh BabuMINC378511
19983BadagaraGENA.K. PremajamFCPM407876P.M. Suresh BabuMINC348715
19963BadagaraGENO. BharathanMCPM415895Unnikrishnan K.PMINC335950
19913BadagaraGENUnnikrishnan K.P. (Scs)MICS(SCS)395501M. RatnasinghMIND378012
19893BadagaraGENK. P. UnnikrishnanMICS(SCS)370434A. SujanapalMINC362225
19843BadagaraGENK. P. UnnikrishnanMICS270416K. M. RadhakrishnanMIND259437
19803BadagaraGENK.P. UnnikrishnanMINC(U)271796Mullappally RamachandranMINC(I)230114
19773BadagaraGENK. P. UnnikrishnanMINC253462Arangil SreedharanMBLD245392
19713BadagaraGENK. P. UnnikrishnanMINC198939A. V. Raghavan MIND141135
19673BadagaraGENA. SreedharanMSSP215597M. K. PrabhakaranMINC115094
19623BadagaraGENA. V. RaghavanMIND204315K. B. Menon MPSP131408
195715BadagaraGENMenon K. B.MPSP111425Gopalan KaripurMINC92606

List of Assembly Constituencies in Vatakara Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Vatakara parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Thalassery Kuthuparamba Vatakara
Kuttiadi Nadapuram Quilandy

Last Updated on July 04, 2020
Live at 6 PM | Bihar Exit Poll | Exit Poll

Live at 5PM | Bihar Elections - ओवैसी का बुख़ार महागठबंधन को | Sanjay Dixit