Live News

Track your constituency
Live News

Thrissur General Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Covering the district of Thrissur in Kerala is the parliamentary constituency by the same name. The Thrissur Lok Sabha seat is one of the 20 parliamentary seats allotted to the state of Kerala. 1,174,161 is the total electorate count in the Thrissur Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 10). Out of these 553,223 number of electorates are males and the remaining 620,938 are belong to the female category as the Election commission of India 2009 reports suggest. It has under its jurisdiction seven assembly constituencies, of which the Nattika assembly segment is reserved for candidates belonging to the scheduled castes. Originally called Thirusivapperoor, the Thrissur city is not only the administrative headquarters of the Thrissur district, but the fourth largest city in the coastal state of Kerala. With as large a population figure as 18,54,783 people, the city is the third largest urban conglomerate in the state. Known as the ‘Cultural Capital’ of Kerala, this district of Thrissur has historically been an eminent hub of Hindu religious philosophy, besides being an exemplary academic centre with superb world class educational institutes such as Kerala Kalamandalam, Kerala University of Medical and Allied Sciences and Kerala Agricultural University among many others. Thrissur played a remarkable role in the anti-colonial freedom struggle, when in 1919, this city of Thrissur witnessed the first historic meeting of the Indian National Congress here, which structured the plan of action for the struggle against the British. The economy of the Thrissur district is solely dependent on big investments coming from rich entrepreneurs who belong to the state. The most famous industry is the jewelry industry, especially gold, besides an emerging economy of Ayurvedic drug manufacturing, and textile industry in the Thrissur district. Interestingly, India’s largest international convention centre, the Lulu Convention Centre is situated in the Thrissur constituency.

Thrissur Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
T. N. PrathapanIndian National Congress41508939.84Winner
Rajaji Mathew ThomasCommunist Party Of India32145630.851st Runner-up
Suresh GopiBharatiya Janata Party29382228.22nd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above42530.413rd Runner-up
Nikhil ChandrasekharanBahujan Samaj Party25510.244th Runner-up
N. D. VenuCommunist Party Of India (Marxist-Leninist) Red Star13300.135th Runner-up
SuvithIndependent11330.116th Runner-up
SonuIndependent11300.117th Runner-up
Praveen K. P.Independent11050.118th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Thrissur Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Thrissur parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Thrissur constituency is Shri C. N. Jayadevan of CPI.
Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201410ThrissurGENC. N. Jayadevan M CPI 389209 K. P. Dhanapalan M INC 350982
200910ThrissurGENP.C. ChackoMINC385297C N JayadevanMCPI360146
20049TrichurGENC. K. ChandrappanMCPI320960A C JoseMINC274999
19999TrichurGENA.C. JoseMINC343793V.V. RaghavanMCPI332161
19989TrichurGENV.V. RaghavanMCPI340216K. MuraleedharanMINC321807
19919TrichurGENP.C. ChackoMINC342896K.P. RajendranMCPI313665
19899TrichurGENP. A. AntonyMINC338271Meenakshy ThampanFCPI332036
19849TrichurGENP. A. AntonyMINC268683V. V. RaghavanMCPI217393
19809TrichurGENK. A. RajanMCPM195343P.P. GeorgeMINC(I)152192
19779TrichurGENK. A. RajanMCPI221815AravindakshanMCPM184309
19718TrichurGENC. JanardhananMCPI186709K. P. Aravindakshan MCPM166385
19678TrichurGENC. JanardhananMCPI180195K. K. V. PanickerMINC159326
19628TrichurGENKrishna WarriarMCPI164899Seetha RamanMINC159072
195710TrichurGENKrishnanMCPI130328Balakrishna MararMINC122695
195111TrichurGENIyyunni ChalakkaMINC70300Joseph Mundaserry MIND56362

List of Assembly Constituencies in Thrissur Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Thrissur parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Guruvayoor Manalur Ollur
Thrissur Nattika (SC) Irinjalakuda

Last Updated on July 04, 2020
Live at 6 PM | Bihar Exit Poll | Exit Poll

Live at 5PM | Bihar Elections - ओवैसी का बुख़ार महागठबंधन को | Sanjay Dixit