Live News

Track your constituency
Live News

Thiruvananthapuram General Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Situated in the Thiruvananthapuram district of Kerala is the Lok Sabha constituency of Thiruvananthapuram. Thiruvananthapuram is the southernmost district of this coastal Indian state, and has as its administrative headquarters, the city of Thiruvananthapuram (or Trivandrum, as it is called). 1,122,047 is the total electorate count in the Thiruvananthapuram Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 20). Out of these 541,715 number of electorates are males and the remaining 580,332 are belong to the female category as the Election commission of India 2009 reports suggest.

Trivandrum is the capital of the state of Kerala. This constituency holds immense political importance in the overall context as Trivandrum is the political nerve of the state of Kerala. As one of the twenty Lok Sabha seats belonging to the state of Kerala, Thiruvananthapuram comprises seven assembly segments, out of which Vattiyoorkavu is reserved for candidates belonging to the Scheduled Castes. At different times in the electoral history of this constituency, Thiruvananthapuram has remained a stronghold not only of the Congress, but also of the Communist Party of India, both of whom have remained equal contenders to this seat. This district of Thiruvananthapuram is renowned for its rich contribution to the IT sector, as a number of multinational corporations and other software industries have continually flourished in this part of the state. With a population of 3,307,284 (2011 census), Thiruvananthapuram is the second most populous district in the state, after Malappuram.

Thiruvananthapuram Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Dr. Shashi TharoorIndian National Congress41613141.19Winner
Kummanam RajasekharanBharatiya Janata Party31614231.31st Runner-up
C. DivakaranCommunist Party Of India25855625.62nd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above45800.453rd Runner-up
Mithra Kumar GIndependent35210.354th Runner-up
Kiran Kumar. S.KBahujan Samaj Party25350.255th Runner-up
Vishnu S AmbadiIndependent18220.186th Runner-up
Pandalam KeralavarmarajaPravasi Nivasi Party16950.177th Runner-up
M.S SubiIndependent10500.18th Runner-up
T SasiIndependent10070.19th Runner-up
S MiniSocialist Unity Centre Of India (Communist)6640.0710th Runner-up
Binu. DIndependent6040.0611th Runner-up
Nandhavanam SuseelanIndependent4650.0512th Runner-up
Christopher Shaju PaliyodeIndependent3450.0313th Runner-up
Gopakumar OorupoikaIndependent3390.0314th Runner-up
Johny ThampyIndependent2670.0315th Runner-up
B. DevadathanIndependent2580.0316th Runner-up
Jain WilsonIndependent1990.0217th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Thiruvananthapuram Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Thiruvananthapuram parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Thiruvananthapuram constituency is Dr. Shashi Tharoor of INC.
Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201420ThiruvananthapuramGENDr. Shashi Tharoor M INC 297806 Sri. O Rajagopal M BJP 282336
200920ThiruvananthapuramGENDr. Shashi TharoorMINC326725Adv. P Ramachandran NairMCPI226727
2005By PollsThiruvananthapuramGENPannyan Raveendran MCPI390324Adv.V.S.Sivakumar MINC316124
200420TrivandrumGENP. K. Vasudevan NairMCPI286057V S SivakumarMINC231454
199920TrivandrumGENAdvocate V.S. SivakumarMINC288390Kaniyapuram RamachandranMCPI273905
199820TrivandrumGENK. KarunakaranMINC337429K.V. Surendra NathMCPI322031
199120TrivandrumGENA. CharlesMINC334272E.J. VijayammaFCPI290602
198920TrivandrumGENA. CharlesMINC367825O. N. V. KurupMIND316912
198420TrivandrumGENA. CharlesMINC239791A. Neela Lohithadasan NadarMLKD186353
198020TrivandrumGENA. Neelalohithadasan NadarMINC(I)273818M. N. Govindan NairMCPI166761
197720TrivandrumGENM. N. Govindan NairMCPI244277P. ViswambharanMBLD174455
197119TrivandrumGENV. K. Krishna MenonMIND104896Atam DasMINC78799
196719TrivandrumGENP. ViswambharanMSSP153040G.C. Pillai MINC148562
196218TrivandrumGENNataraja PillaiMIND161713Krishna PillaiMCPI151255
19571TrivandrumGENEaswara IyerMIND121350Thanu Pillai A MPSP110406
19512TrivandrumGENAnnie MascareneMIND116617T. K. Narayana PillaiMSP48500

List of Assembly Constituencies in Thiruvananthapuram Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Thiruvananthapuram parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Kazhakoottam Vattiyoorkavu (SC) Thiruvananthapuram
Nemom Parassala Kovalam

Last Updated on July 04, 2020
Live at 6 PM | Bihar Exit Poll | Exit Poll

Live at 5PM | Bihar Elections - ओवैसी का बुख़ार महागठबंधन को | Sanjay Dixit