Live News

Track your constituency
Live News

Pathanamthitta General (Lok Sabha) Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Formed in the year 2008, following the Delimitation of Parliamentary and Assembly Constituencies Order, the Pathanamthitta parliamentary constituency is one of the 20 constituencies representing the southern Indian state of Kerala in the Lok Sabha. The Pathanamthitta Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 17) has a total of 1,213,370 electorates out of which 636,150 are females and 577,220 are males according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports.

The Pathanamthitta parliamentary constituency covers the entire district of Pathanamthitta which is the newest district created in the state, following the Delimitation Commission’s Orders. The constituency thus is an integral part of the Central Travancore region of the state, which consists of three districts in the south-central regions of Kerala. Also popularly known as the ‘headquarters of pilgrimage tourism’, the Pathanamthitta district has the rich city of Pathanamthitta - also of the same name - as its administrative capital.

The Pathanamthitta district has a populationof 11,95,537 inhabitants, as per the 2011 census. And, the constituency boasts of a 96.93% literacy rate.

Pathanamthitta Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Anto AntonyIndian National Congress38092737.11Winner
Veena GeorgeCommunist Party Of India (Marxist)33668432.81st Runner-up
K SurendranBharatiya Janata Party29739628.972nd Runner-up
Shibu ParakkadavanBahujan Samaj Party38140.373rd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above33520.334th Runner-up
Veena VIndependent18090.185th Runner-up
Jose GeorgeAmbedkarite Party Of India13550.136th Runner-up
Binu BabySocialist Unity Centre Of India (Communist)6220.067th Runner-up
Ratheesh ChoorakoduIndependent5940.068th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Pathanamthitta Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Pathanamthitta parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Pathanamthitta constituency is Shri Anto Antony of INC.

YearPC No.PC NameCategoryWinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
201417PathanamthittaGENAnto Antony M INC 358842 Adv. Peelipose Thomas M IND 302651
200917PathanamthittaGENAntony,Shri Anto MINC408232Adv.K.Anantha GopanMCPM297026

List of Assembly Constituencies in Pathanamthitta Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Pathanamthitta parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Kanjirappally Poonjar Thiruvalla
Ranni Aranmula Konni
Adoor (SC)   

Last Updated on July 04, 2020
Live at 6 PM | Bihar Exit Poll | Exit Poll

Live at 5PM | Bihar Elections - ओवैसी का बुख़ार महागठबंधन को | Sanjay Dixit