Live News

Track your constituency
Live News

Palakkad General (Lok Sabha) Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Palakkad is one of the 20 Lok Sabha constituencies in the southern Indian state of Kerala. The Palakkad constituency is politically prominent as it has remained a vote-bank of the Communist Party of India (Marxist) since the years of its growth, although the Congress won some of the general elections. The Palakkad Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 8) consists of 1,074,818 number of electorates in totality, of these 520,104 are males and 554,714 are females as the Election commission of India 2009 data suggests. It is situated within the geographic limits of the Palakkad district, of which the coastal town of Palakkad (or Palghat) is the administrative headquarters.

With a population of 2,810,892 (2011 data), Palakkad is known for being a district with extremely high literacy rate. Some of the best educational institutions are found here. Nonetheless, the Ministry of Panchayati Raj attributed the status of ‘economic backwardness’ to the district of Palakkad; it is thus being funded by special economic packages such as the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme. N. N. Krishnadas is the most popular political leader in this constituency, representing the CPIM as an MP four terms in a row. Out of the seven assembly segments which comprise Palakkad, Kongad is reserved for candidates belonging to the Scheduled Castes.

Palakkad Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
V K SreekandanIndian National Congress39927438.83Winner
M B RajeshCommunist Party Of India (Marxist)38763737.71st Runner-up
Krishnakumar CBharatiya Janata Party21855621.262nd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above66650.653rd Runner-up
Thulaseedharan PallickalSocial Democratic Party Of India57490.564th Runner-up
C ChandranIndependent26240.265th Runner-up
Hari ArumbilBahujan Samaj Party24080.236th Runner-up
Rajesh PalolamIndependent22340.227th Runner-up
Rajesh S/O ManiIndependent21280.218th Runner-up
BalakrishnanIndependent9740.099th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Palakkad Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Palakkad parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Palakkad constituency is Shri M. B. Rajesh of CPM.

YearPC No.PC NameCategoryWinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
20148PalakkadGENM B Rajesh M CPM 412897 M P Veerendrakumar M SJ(D) 307597
20098PalakkadGENM. B. RajeshMCPM338070Satheesan PacheniMINC336250
20047PalghatGENN. N. KrishnadasMCPM375144V S Vijaya RaghavanMINC276986
19997PalghatGENN.N.KrishnadasMCPM372536M.T. PadmaMINC341769
19987PalghatGENN.N. KrishnadasMCPM345963V.S. VijayaraghavanMINC320941
19967PalghatGENN N KrishnadasMCPM343264V S VijayaraghavanMINC319841
19917PalghatGENV.S. VijayaraghavanMINC334913A. VijayaraghavanMCPM319145
19897PalghatGENA. VijayaraghavanMCPM348401V. S. VijayaraghavanMINC347115
19847PalghatGENV. S. VijayaraghavanMINC287170T. Sivadasa MenonMCPM249017
19807PalghatGENV.S. Vijaya RaghavanMINC(I)204355T. Sivadasa MenonMCPM192267
19777PalghatGENA. SunnasahibMINC207604T. Sivadasa MenonMCPM192733
19717PalghatGENA. K. GopalanMCPM191089T. C. GovindanMIND138823
19677PalghatGENE. K. NayanarMCPM158230C. S. Devan MINC90872
19626Palghat(SC)Kunhan Patinjara VeetilpadiMCPI131688V. Eacharan MINC59353
195711Palghat(SC)Kunhan P.MCPI233807Damodaran KMCPI185662
195711Palghat(SC)Eacharan V. IyyaniMINC186594Vasu Menon, P INC142053

List of Assembly Constituencies in Palakkad Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Palakkad parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Pattambi Shoranur Ottapalam
Kongad (SC) Mannarkkad Malampuzha

Last Updated on July 04, 2020
Live at 6 PM | Bihar Exit Poll | Exit Poll

Live at 5PM | Bihar Elections - ओवैसी का बुख़ार महागठबंधन को | Sanjay Dixit