+ Kozhikode (Kerala) Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 - Kozhikode Parliamentary Constituency, Winning MP and Party Name

Live News

Track your constituency
Live News

Kozhikode General (Lok Sabha) Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Situated in the district of Kozhikode is the parliamentary constituency of Kozhikode, which is one of the 20 Lok Sabha seats belonging to the state of Kerala. 1,053,817 is the total electorate count in the Kozhikode Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 5). Out of these 510,361 number of electorates are males and the remaining 543,456 are belong to the female category as the Election commission of India 2009 reports suggest. The district of Kozhikode has as its administrative headquarters, the coastal city of Kozhikode (or Calicut, as it was formerly known).

This city holds immense historic value as the European travelers, most renowned of them being Vasco Da Gama, discovered this port city for its trading potential with the West. Calicut remained one of the primary trading centres of export for the Portuguese and later the British, who traded in items such as black pepper, myrobalans, and spices of various kinds. The constituency of Kozhikode has remained a Congress stronghold, although the CPIM and the Janata Dal have respectively won elections from this constituency. With a population of 2,030,519 (2011 Census), the city of Kozhikode is the third-largest city in Kerala and remains an extremely important urban conglomeration. The economy of the Kozhikode district and the city, in particular, survives on easy accessibility to the trading hubs and centres in the region, with trade being the backbone of the economy. Fishing and sea-borne businesses also make up bulk of the economy. Out of the seven Assembly seats which comprise the Lok Sabha seat of Kozhikode, Balusseri is reserved for candidates belonging to the Scheduled Caste category.

Kozhikode Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
M.K.RaghavanIndian National Congress49344445.85Winner
A.Pradeep KumarCommunist Party Of India (Marxist)40821937.931st Runner-up
Adv.Prakash BabuBharatiya Janata Party16121614.982nd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above34730.323rd Runner-up
Raghu.KBahujan Samaj Party22990.214th Runner-up
Raghavan.P Vadakke EdoliIndependent11600.115th Runner-up
Raghavan.T ThayyullayilIndependent10770.16th Runner-up
A.SekharSocialist Unity Centre Of India (Communist)10310.17th Runner-up
Raghavan Nair Manikkothu KunnummalIndependent9620.098th Runner-up
Pradeep Kumar.E.T Peedikathodi VeeduIndependent7600.079th Runner-up
Prakash Babu ChaithramIndependent5710.0510th Runner-up
Nusrath JahanIndependent5580.0511th Runner-up
Pradeepan.NIndependent5510.0512th Runner-up
Raghavn.N AllachiparambuIndependent4620.0413th Runner-up
Pradeep.V.KIndependent4100.0414th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Kozhikode Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Kozhikode parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Kozhikode constituency is Shri M. K. Raghavan of INC.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
20145KozhikodeGENM .K Raghavan M INC 397615 A.Vijayaraghavan M CPM 380732
20095KozhikodeGENM. K. RaghavanMINC342309Adv. P.A. Mohamed RiyasMCPM341471
20044CalicutGENM. P. Veerendra KumarMJD(S)340111Adv V BalaramMINC274785
19994CalicutGENK. MuraleedharanMINC383425C.M. IbrahimMJD(S)333023
19984CalicutGENAdv. P. SankaranMINC356392M.P. Veerendra KumarMJD337735
19964CalicutGENM P Veerendra KumarMJD355565K. MuraleedharanMINC316862
19914CalicutGENK. MuraleedharanMINC355113M.P. Veerendra KumarMJD339229
19894CalicutGENK. MuraleedharanMINC377858E. K. ImbichibavaMCPM348901
19844CalicutGENK. G. AdiyodiMINC278216Moideenkutty Haji (Bavae Haji)MIML224155
19804CalicutGENE. K. Imbichi BavaMCPM226940Arangil SreeedharanMJNP186245
19774CalicutGENV. A. Seyid MuhammadMINC231063M. KamalamMBLD217359
19714KozhikodeGENIbrahim Sulaiman SaitMMUL195206Palat Kunni Koya MIND123130
19674KozhikodeGENE. S. SaitMMUL215136N. K. S. NairMINC133263
19624KozhikodeGENC. H. Muhammed KoyaMML104277H. Manjunatha RaoMCPI103514
195713KozhikodeGENKuttikrishnan NairMINC103492Seethi Sahib KottapurathMIND89550
195160KozhikodeGENAchuthan Damodaran MenonMKMPP104466Ummar Koya, ParappilMINC77012

List of Assembly Constituencies in Kozhikode Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Kozhikode parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Balusseri (SC) Elathur Kozhikode North
Kozhikode South Beypore Kunnamangalam

Last Updated on March 28, 2020
Live at 6 PM | Bihar Exit Poll | Chinatamani-Elections.in Exit Poll

Live at 5PM | Bihar Elections - ओवैसी का बुख़ार महागठबंधन को | Sanjay Dixit