+ Kollam (Kerala) Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 - Kollam Parliamentary Constituency, Winning MP and Party Name

Live News

Track your constituency
Live News

Kollam General (Lok Sabha) Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Covering the entire district of Kollam in the coastal state of Kerala is the parliamentary constituency of Kollam. It is one of the 20 Lok Sabha seats that are representative of the entire state of Kerala in the Lower House of the Parliament. The Kollam Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 18) consists of 1,108,686 number of electorates in totality, of these 521,619 are males and 587,067 are females as the Election commission of India 2009 data suggests. Under its jurisdiction falls the city of Kollam or Quilon as it is popularly called, that houses the administrative offices of the Kollam district. The overall population of Kollum is 26,29,703 as per the 2011 Census of India.

This city has a splendid history going back to as early as the 14th century, when rich coastal trading was harboured on this old seat port. The economy of the Kollam district primarily therefore thrives on fishing as the main trade, with over one lakh of people engaged in fishing as their daily occupation. Some of the fishing villages are Cheriazheekkal, Pandarathuruthu, Alappad and Puthenthura, along with advanced fishing mechanisms and a flourishing model fishing village being set up at Eravipuram. Kollam is famously known to be at the centre of Kerala's cashew industry.  

Government undertaking industries also help in adding revenue to the economy in Kollam. Seven assembly segments fall under the jurisdiction of this parliamentary constituency of Kollam.

Kollam Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
N.K.PremachandranRevolutionary Socialist Party49967751.61Winner
K.N.BalagopalCommunist Party Of India (Marxist)35082136.241st Runner-up
Adv.K.V.SabuBharatiya Janata Party10333910.672nd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above60180.623rd Runner-up
Saji KollamIndependent26290.274th Runner-up
Suni KalluvathukkalIndependent17080.185th Runner-up
Twinkle PrabhakaranSocialist Unity Centre Of India (Communist)13190.146th Runner-up
Dr.Sreekumar.JIndependent11500.127th Runner-up
N.JayarajanIndependent8300.098th Runner-up
Nagaraj.GIndependent6320.079th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Kollam Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Kollam parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Kollam constituency is Shri N.K.Premachandran of INC.

YearPC No.PC NameCategoryWinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
201418KollamGENN.K.Premachandran M RSP 408528 M.A. Baby M CPM 370879
200918KollamGENKurup,Shri N. Peethambara MINC357401P.RajendranMCPM339870

List of Assembly Constituencies in Kollam Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Kollam parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Chavara Punalur Chadayamangalam
Kundara Kollam Eravipuram

Last Updated on March 28, 2020
Live at 6 PM | Bihar Exit Poll | Chinatamani-Elections.in Exit Poll

Live at 5PM | Bihar Elections - ओवैसी का बुख़ार महागठबंधन को | Sanjay Dixit