+ Alathur (Kerala) Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 - Alathur Parliamentary Constituency, Winning MP & Party Name

Live News

Track your constituency
Live News

Alathur General Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

One of the 20 parliamentary constituencies in the southern Indian state of Kerala is Alathur. This constituency came into existence as recently as 2008, following the Delimitation of Parliamentary and Assembly Constituencies Order of 2008. The total number of electorates in the Alathur Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 9) according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports are 1,100,843 of which 534,049 are males and 566,794 are females. This seat is reserved for candidates belonging to the scheduled caste community.

With seven Vidhan Sabha segments, this constituency is spread over the districts of Palakkad and Thrissur. Before the reorganization of the constituencies as carried out by the Delimitation Commission of India, three out of the seven assembly segments belonged to the erstwhile Lok Sabha constituency of Ottapalam, reserved for the scheduled caste. Alathur has an estimated population of more than four lakh people.

The Palakkad district is popularly called the 'Rice Bowl of India', owing to the production of superior quality rice in this district. The Alathur constituency is dependent on the agricultural sector for the major bulk of its economy, thus being termed the 'granary of Kerala', although the constituency also thrives on textile industry and the power loom industry, such as Alagappa Textiles, Kerala Lakshmi Mills, Thrissur Cotton Mills, and Rajgopal Textiles in Thrissur, which add to the revenue of the Thrissur district.

The Palakkad district has been recognised as economically backward, thus being funded by the government under the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme.

Alathur Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Ramya HaridasIndian National Congress53381552.4Winner
Dr. P.K.BijuCommunist Party Of India (Marxist)37484736.81st Runner-up
T.V.BabuBharath Dharma Jana Sena898378.822nd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above77220.763rd Runner-up
Dr.Jayan.C.KuthanurBahujan Samaj Party55050.544th Runner-up
Adv.Pretheep Kumar.P.K.Independent43010.425th Runner-up
Krishnankutty KunisseryIndependent27160.276th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Alathur Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Alathur parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Alathur constituency is Shri P.K.Biju of CPM.

YearPC No.PC NameCategoryWinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
20149Alathur(SC)P.K.Biju M CPM 411808 Sheeba K.A F INC 374496
20099Alathur(SC)Biju,Shri Parayamparanbil Kuttappan MCPM387352N.K SudheerMINC366392

List of Assembly Constituencies in Alathur Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Alathur parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Tarur (SC) Chittur Nenmara
Alathur Chelakkara (SC) Kunnamkulam

Last Updated on March 28, 2020
Live at 6 PM | Bihar Exit Poll | Chinatamani-Elections.in Exit Poll

Live at 5PM | Bihar Elections - ओवैसी का बुख़ार महागठबंधन को | Sanjay Dixit