Track your constituency

Track your constituency

Varkala (Kerala) Assembly Constituency Elections

About Varkala Assembly Constituency

Varkala is constituency No. 127 of Kerala legislative assembly. It is situated in Thiruvananthapuram district and comes under the Attingal Lok Sabha constituency. It is an unreserved seat. The Attingal Lok Sabha constituency was formed after delimitation in 2008. According to the Election Commission of India, Varkala assembly seat has 1,51,930 registered voters. It comprises 65,846 male and 86,084 female registered voters. Congress candidate Varkala Kahar won this assembly seat in the 2011 elections. Kahar bagged 57,755 votes while CPI(M) candidate A.A. Rahim, the nearest contender, got 47,045. The winning margin was 10,710. The voter turnout was 72.55 %.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Varkala Assembly Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Varkala assembly elections conducted so far.

YearA C No.Constituency NameCategoryWinnerGenderPartyVotesRunner UpGenderPartyVotes
195711Varkala(SC)Abdul Majeed T. A.MCPI41683Sivadasan K.MCPI31454
196011VarkalaGENBalakrishnanMCPI50231Balakrishnan MCPI50114
1965120VarkalaGENK. Shahul HameedMINC21092V. Radhakrishnan MCPI(M)12381
1967120VarkalaGENA . MajidMCPI24796S . HameedMINC 17885
1970120VarkalaGENMajid T. A.MCPI26444Radhakrishnan VMCPM20630
1977127VarkalaGENT.A. Majeed MCPI25210ShamsuddinMBLD18991
1980127VarkalaGENVarkala Radhakrishan MCPM34148G. KarthikeyanMINC(I)26887
1982127VarkalaGENVarkala RadhakrishnanMCPM27315M. K. Sreedharan MIND 25511
1987127VarkalaGENVarkala RadhakrishnanMCPM40381N. SreenivasanMIND25921
1991127VarkalaGENVarkala RadhakrishnanMCPM42977Varkala KaharMINC39680
1996127VarkalaGENA.Ali Hassan MCPM42093G.PriyadarsananMINC15704
2001127VarkalaGENVarkala Kahar MINC45315P.K.GurudasanMCPM43327
2006127VarkalaGENVarkala Kahar MINC44883Adv S SundaresanMCPI(M)43258
2011127VarkalaGENVarkala KaharMINC57755A.A.RahimMCPM47045

Last Updated on May 04, 2020
Live at 6 PM | Bihar Exit Poll | Exit Poll

Live at 5PM | Bihar Elections - ओवैसी का बुख़ार महागठबंधन को | Sanjay Dixit

Latest Election News and Update Bihar Exit Poll NDA Wins Bihar Election: Accurately Predicted by – Chintamani Exit Poll

The – Chintamani Exit poll for Bihar Election 2020 couldn’t have been more accurate to predict the win of NDA. When all the other exit polls had projected a Read More…

Bihar Election Result LIVE Update Bihar Election Results LIVE Updates

9:37:41 PM Mayawati’s BSP has secured 1 seat in Bihar Elections. While AIMIM had won 3 seats and is leading on 2. In the case of Left parties, CPI and Read More…

Bihar Exit Poll Unpredictability The Unpredictability of Exit Polls in Bihar Election

The Bihar Election 2020 Exit Polls have failed to give a uniform prediction about the winner. This means that the actual Bihar Election Result 2020 can swing in any direction. Read More…