Track your constituency
Live News

Tumkur Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

Tumkur District Map

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Tumkur Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
G. S. BasavarajBharatiya Janata Party5940110211659612747.89Winner
H. D. DevegowdaJanata Dal (Secular)5816240116458278846.821st Runner-up
N. ShivannaCommunist Party Of India1722205172271.382nd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above10285010102950.833rd Runner-up
Siddaramegowda T. B.Independent76370076370.614th Runner-up
K. C. HanumantharayaBahujan Samaj Party599901460130.485th Runner-up
Chaya RajashankarUttama Prajaakeeya Party438501343980.356th Runner-up
Mahalakshmi C. P.Ambedkar Samaj Party42080342110.347th Runner-up
J. K. SamiIndependent34530034530.288th Runner-up
G. NagendraIndependent30500030500.259th Runner-up
T. N. Kumara SwamyIndependent25640225660.2110th Runner-up
K. V. Srinivas KalkereIndependent19590019590.1611th Runner-up
D. SharadhishayanaIndependent14510114520.1212th Runner-up
Prakash. R. A. JainIndependent12760112770.113th Runner-up
B. S. MallikarjunaiahIndependent12680112690.114th Runner-up
KapanigowdaIndependent11360011360.0915th Runner-up

The Tumkur Parliamentary constituency is one of the 28 Lok Sabha constituencies in Karnataka. Situated within the geographic limits of the administrative district of Tumakuru, the Tumkur city is the administrative seat of power as well as the Municipal Corporation of the District. According to Election Commission of India 2009 data the total electorates in the Tumkur Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 19) were 1,388,773 of which 683,193 are females and 705,580 are males.

Tumkur is a famous industrial city in the state of Karnataka. According to the Delimitation Commission of India, the number of Assembly constituencies in Tumkur is eight. Out of these, the Koratagere assembly constituency is reserved for candidates belonging to the Scheduled Caste category. About 26,78,980 people reside in this district according to the 2011 Census records, making the Tumakuru district one of the most advanced regions in the state. Being famous across the world for automobiles as well as software, this parliamentary constituency has a rich and flourishing industrial sector. This constituency is extremely important as an educational hub, housing some of the most prestigious educational institutions in the region.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Tumkur Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Tumkur parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Tumkur constituency is Shri Muddahanumegowda.S.P. of INC.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201419TumkurGENMuddahanumegowda.S.P. M INC 429868 G.S.Basavaraj M BJP 355827
200919TumkurGENBasavaraj,Shri Gangasandra Siddappa MBJP331064Muddahanumegowda S.P.MJD(S)309619
20048TumkurGENS. MallikarjunaiahMBJP303016Jagadeesh D LMJD(S)300665
19968TumkurGENC N BhaskarappaMJD192228S MallikarjunaiahMBJP176516
19918TumkurGENS. MallikarjunaiahMBJP255186G.S. BasavarajMINC236269
19848TumkurGENG. S. BasavarajuMINC265249Y. K. RamaiahMJNP234839
19808TumkurGENK. LakkappaMINC(I)243229S. MallikarjuniahMJNP126168
19778TumkurGENK. LakkappaMINC237086S. MallikarjuniahMBLD170269

List of Assembly Constituencies in Tumkur Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Tumkur parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Tumkur CityTumkur RuralKoratagere (SC)

Last Updated on July 08, 2020
Managed By 5 Dots Partners | © 2023