Track your constituency

Live News

Davanagere Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

Latest Election News and Update

Yashwant Sinha Bihar Elections 2020 Yashwant Sinha Jumps in the Bihar Election With a New ‘Front’

Former BJP leader Yashwant Sinha has decided to try his luck in the upcoming Bihar Election 2020. He had handled finance and external affairs portfolios in the Bajpayee government. To Read More…

Madhya Pradesh Cabinet 2020 Madhya Pradesh Cabinet Expansion, 28 New Ministers took Oath

After long consultations with the senior leadership, Shivraj Singh Chouhan has finally expanded his cabinet. 28 new ministers took oath today and it was administered by Anandiben Patel. She had Read More…

Cast Politics in Bihar Analysis: How Caste Plays A Significant Role For Bihar Election

India is going to witness a heightened political activity since the end of 2020. Mainly because the term of many state assemblies is going to expire. There will be Bihar Read More…

Bond of Amit Shah and Nitish Kumar Bond of Amit Shah and Nitish Kumar gets Stronger: Bihar Election

Elections are due later this year for Bihar and the pandemic is testing the NDA alliance on all fronts. There was much indifference among JDU and BJP over the handling Read More…

Good and Bad Work done by BJP The Good and the Bad Work Done by BJP in India

The time has changed in true sense for the Bharatiya Janata Party. From an era when it was only scoring so little in the elections, to the days when it Read More…

Jyotiraditya Scindia BJP Destruction From Within: Jyotiraditya Scindia Joins BJP

A long time Congress loyalist and Rahul Gandhi’s young Congress group member, Jyotiraditya has left the party. As of 11th March, Scindia has joined Bharatiya Janata Party in the presence Read More…

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Davanagere Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
G M SiddeshwarBharatiya Janata Party6513530164365299654.66Winner
H B ManjappaIndian National Congress482683061148329440.461st Runner-up
Siddappa B HBahujan Samaj Party772301377360.652nd Runner-up
Manjunatha MarikoppaIndependent59470059470.53rd Runner-up
Mohamed HayathIndependent49530149540.414th Runner-up
H EshwarappaIndia Praja Bandhu Party46230246250.395th Runner-up
V ManjunathacharIndependent45680345710.386th Runner-up
C M Manjunatha SwamiIndependent44880244900.387th Runner-up
Ganesha B AUttama Prajaakeeya Party32130732200.278th Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above30910730980.269th Runner-up
A T DadakhalandarIndependent27230027230.2310th Runner-up
M B VeerabhadrappaIndependent17330017330.1511th Runner-up
B V Tippeswamy GoshaleIndependent16120016120.1312th Runner-up
Harish HalliIndependent15610015610.1313th Runner-up
Barkath AliIndependent15050015050.1314th Runner-up
Madhu ThogaleriSocialist Unity Centre Of India (Communist)12580012580.1115th Runner-up
Mohammed AleemullaIndependent11720111730.116th Runner-up
Shashikumar R NIndependent10970311000.0917th Runner-up
V Iqbal AhemadIndependent10380010380.0918th Runner-up
Abdul Nazeer SabIndependent987009870.0819th Runner-up
Syed. Zabiulla KIndependent978009780.0820th Runner-up
Alur M G SwamyIndependent898008980.0821th Runner-up
S S Subhan KhanIndependent851008510.0722th Runner-up
Ravindra NavaleIndian Labour Party (Ambedkar Phule)822008220.0723th Runner-up
S K AfzalkhanIndependent803008030.0724th Runner-up
Dr|| Sridhara UdupaIndependent613006130.0525th Runner-up

Parliamentary constituency of Davanagere came into existence in 1977. It is one of the 28 Lok Sabha seats belonging to the southern Indian state of Karnataka, and has remained a BJP vote-bank bastion since 1999. 1,344,920 is the total electorate count in the Davanagere Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 13). Out of these 691,034 number of electorates are males and the remaining 653,886 are belong to the female category as the Election commission of India 2009 reports suggest. This constituency is spread across the entire district of Davanagere, which lies in the central parts of the state.

The city of Davanagere is the administrative seat of power in this eponymous district. This city, which is located on National Highway 4, is the sixth largest city in the state. The Davanagere District, also called Davangere, is economically dependent on special governmental schemes such as the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme. Like most other constituencies which belong to this state, Davanagere comprises eight assembly segments, out of which, the segments of Jagalur and Mayakonda are reserved for the marginalised sections of the society.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Davanagere Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Davanagere parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Davanagere constituency is Shri G M Siddeshwara of BJP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201413DavanagereGENG M Siddeshwara M BJP 518894 S.S. Mallikarjun M INC 501287
200913DavanagereGENSiddeshwara,Shri Gowdar Mallikarjunappa MBJP423447S.S. MallikarjunaMINC421423
20046DavanagereGENG.M. SiddeswaraMBJP370499Mallikarjun S SMINC337823
19996DavanagereGENG.MallikarjunappaMBJP398969Shamanur ShivashankarappaMINC382700
19986DavanagereGENShamanur Shiva ShankarappaMINC343704G.MallikarjunappaMBJP332372
19966DavanagereGENG MallikarjunappaMBJP268962S H PatelMJD171875
19916DavanagereGENChannaiah OdeyarMINC237542S.A. RabindranathMBJP237087
19896DavanagereGENChannaiah OdeyarMINC369969K.G.MaheswarappaMJD293849
19846DavanagereGENChannaiah OdeyarMINC290003K. G. MaheswarappaMJNP224262
19806DavanagereGENT.V. ChandrashekharappaMINC(I)238506Kondajji BasappaMJNP97510
19776DavanagereGENKondajji BasappaMINC244200K. G. MaheswarappaMBLD152078

Facts about current sitting MP of Davanagere Constituency

Name of MP Shri Gowdar Mallikarjunappa Siddeshwara
Age 66
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party Bharatiya Janata Party
Gender Male
Educational Qualification Matriculate
Activities of Shri Gowdar Mallikarjunappa Siddeshwara in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 27
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 149
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Davanagere Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Davanagere parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Jagalur (ST)HarapanahalliHarihar
Davanagere NorthDavanagere SouthMayakonda (SC)

Last Updated on July 2, 2019