Track your constituency
Live News

Dakshina Kannada Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

Dakshina District Map

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Dakshina Kannada Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Nalin Kumar KateelBharatiya Janata Party7727540153177428557.57Winner
Mithun M RaiIndian National Congress499387027749966437.151st Runner-up
Mohammed EliyasSocial Democratic Party Of India4683405468393.482nd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above73750573800.553rd Runner-up
S. Sathish SalianBahujan Samaj Party47090447130.354th Runner-up
AlexanderIndependent27510127520.25th Runner-up
H. Suresh PoojaryIndependent23140123150.176th Runner-up
Venkatesh BendeIndependent17020017020.137th Runner-up
Vijay Shreenivas .CUttama Prajaakeeya Party16280116290.128th Runner-up
Supreeth Kumar PoojaryHindustan Janta Party948009480.079th Runner-up
Maxim PintoIndependent908009080.0710th Runner-up
Deepak Rajesh CoelhoIndependent747017480.0611th Runner-up
Mohammad KhalidIndependent602006020.0412th Runner-up
Abdul HameedIndependent554005540.0413th Runner-up

Formed in the year 2008 as per the Delimitation Commission’s orders, the Dakshina Kannada Lok Sabha constituency is one of the 28 parliamentary segments which belong to the southern Indian state of Karnataka. The total number of electorates in the Dakshina Kannada Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 17) according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports are 1,364,641 of which 673,121 are males and 691,520 are females. Eight assembly segments comprise the parliamentary constituency of Dakshina Kannada, out of which Sullia is reserved for candidates belonging to the Scheduled Castes. Before the delimitation of the parliamentary and assembly constituencies in 2008, the assembly segments were scattered across the Udupi and Chikmagalur constituencies, while some were under the erstwhile Mangalore Lok Sabha constituency.

Belonging to the coastal region of South Kanara in Karnataka, this district has a total population of 2,083,625, as per the Census records of 2011. Mainly comprising the Tuluvas, who were the first peoples to settle in this constituency, the district also has other communities like Kulala, Mogaveera, Billava, Bunts, Devadiga, Muslims, Vokkaligas, Holeyas and others. Known as the ‘Cradle of Indian Banking’, this district of Karnataka is one of the most industrialised regions. Besides public and private sector banks, other industries like IT are flourishing in this district. Agriculture, which was once a major economic support, has now been relegated to the background, although fishing continues to be one of the primary occupations in the district, owing to its proximity to the seas.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Dakshina Kannada Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Dakshina Kannada parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Dakshina Kannada constituency is Shri Nalin Kumar Kateel of BJP.
Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201417Dakshina KannadaGENNalin Kumar Kateel M BJP 642739 Janardhana Poojary M INC 499030
200917Dakshina KannadaGENKateel,Shri Nalin Kumar MBJP499385Janardhana PoojaryMINC458965

List of Assembly Constituencies in Dakshina Kannada Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Dakshina Kannada parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
BelthangadyMoodabidriMangalore City North
Mangalore City SouthMangaloreBantval
PutturSullia (SC)

Last Updated on June 30, 2020
Managed By 5 Dots Partners | © 2023