Track your constituency
Live News

Chamarajanagar Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

Chamarajanagar District Map

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Chamrajanagar Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
V. Srinivas PrasadBharatiya Janata Party5670100152756853744.74Winner
R. DhruvanarayanaIndian National Congress565754096656672044.61st Runner-up
Dr. ShivakumaraBahujan Samaj Party872080423876316.92nd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above127060101271613rd Runner-up
Hanur NagarajuUttama Prajaakeeya Party95010995100.754th Runner-up
M. Pradeep KumarIndependent65530165540.525th Runner-up
G.D. RajagopalIndependent46320146330.366th Runner-up
SubbaiahIndian New Congress Party46040246060.367th Runner-up
N. AmbarishIndependent40670040670.328th Runner-up
Anand Jivan RamIndependent30000030000.249th Runner-up
Prasanna Kumar. BKarnataka Praja Party (Raithaparva)26800426840.2110th Runner-up

Coming into existence in the year 1962, the Chamarajanagar Parliamentary constituency is one of the 28 Lok Sabha constituencies in the state of Karnataka located in the southern regions of India. The total number of electorates in the Chamarajanagar Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 22) according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports are 1,433,825 of which 730,258 are males and 703,567 are females. Chamarajanagar has been reserved for candidates belonging to the Scheduled Castes. This constituency is geographically located within the Chamarajanagar District in the state, which has the Chamarajanagar city as its administrative centre. It is a famous industrial city in the state of Karnataka.

The district, housing a population of 1,020,962 according to the 2011 Census of India, is the third least populous district of Karnataka, after Kodagu and Bangalore Rural. Economically, the Chamarajanagar Parliamentary constituency relies on a strong industrial base, besides being famous for its dense forests which attract considerable tourism. V. Srinivasa Prasad of the Congress has been elected to the Chamarajanagar parliamentary constituency as a Member of Parliament four times. Eight Assembly segments comprise this Lok Sabha constituency, out of which four Assembly segments of Heggadadevankote, Nanjangud, Kollega and T. Narasipur are reserved for candidates of the so-called lower sections of the society.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Chamarajanagar Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Chamarajanagar parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Chamarajanagar constituency is Shri Rangaswamy Dhruvanarayana of INC.

Year PC No. PC Name Category WinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
201422Chamrajanagar(SC)R. Dhruvanarayana M INC 567782 A. R. Krishna Murthy M BJP 426600
200922Chamrajanagar(SC)Dhruvanarayana,Shri Rangaswamy MINC369970A.R.KrishnamurthyMBJP365968
200415Chamarajanagar(SC)M. ShivannaMJD(S)316661A SiddarajuMINC272672
199815Chamarajanagar(SC)Siddaraju. A.MJD340490Sreenivasa Prasad. V.MINC270175
199615Chamarajanagar(SC)A SiddarajuMJD214745L H BalakrishnaMINC191169
199115Chamarajanagar(SC)V. Sreenivasa PrasadMINC217735H.C. MahadevappaMJD148775
198915Chamarajanagar(SC)V.Srinivasa PrasadMINC366922Devanur ShivamalluMJD213277
198415Chamarajanagar(SC)V. Sreenivasa PrasadMINC240665G. N. MalleshaiahMJNP160012
198015Chamarajanagar(SC)V. Sreenivasa PrasadMINC(I)228748B. RachaiahMINC(U)118287
197715Chamarajanagar(SC)B. RachaiahMINC214233V. Sreenivasa PrasadMBLD142615

List of Assembly Constituencies in Chamarajanagar Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Chamarajanagar parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Heggadadevankote (ST)Nanjangud (SC)Varuna
T.Narasipur (SC)HanurKollegal (SC)

Last Updated on June 30, 2020
Managed By 5 Dots Partners | © 2023