Track your constituency
Live News

Bijapur Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

Bijapur District Map

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Bijapur Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Bhagwanth KhubaBharatiya Janata Party5838330163858547152.41Winner
Eshwar B. KhandreIndian National Congress4672970134046863741.951st Runner-up
Baba BukhariBahujan Samaj Party15168020151881.362nd Runner-up
Ravikant. K. Hugar VakilIndependent57470157480.513rd Runner-up
Shivaraj Timmanna BokkeIndependent49790149800.454th Runner-up
Maulasab TadakalIndependent46330146340.415th Runner-up
Abdus Sattar MujahedAkhil Bharatiya Muslim League (Secular)46230146240.416th Runner-up
Dayanand GodboleAmbedkarite Party Of India36320336350.337th Runner-up
Sharad GandgeIndependent34390134400.318th Runner-up
Santosh RathodBharatiya Jan Kranti Dal (Democratic)33420233440.39th Runner-up
Moulappa. A. MalgeIndependent20260120270.1810th Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above19460219480.1711th Runner-up
Ambresh KenchaUttama Prajaakeeya Party18510218530.1712th Runner-up
Sugriv Bharat KachaveKranti Kari Jai Hind Sena17070017070.1513th Runner-up
Shrimanth Arjun Yevate PatilIndependent13220013220.1214th Runner-up
Mufti Shiak Abdul GaffarIndependent12590012590.1115th Runner-up
RajkumarPurvanchal Janta Party (Secular)12400112410.1116th Runner-up
Rajamabi DastagirBhartiyabahujankranti Dal12080012080.1117th Runner-up
Advocate Moulvi ZameruddinNational Development Party11370111380.118th Runner-up
Saibanna JamadarIndependent10510010510.0919th Runner-up
Md MerajuddinBahujan Maha Party10000010000.0920th Runner-up
Mohammed Abdul WakeelBharat Prabhat Party970009700.0921th Runner-up
Mohammed YousufPraja Satta Party742007420.0722th Runner-up

The Bijapur Lok Sabha constituency in Karnataka is reserved for candidates belonging to the Scheduled Castes. As one of the 28 Lok Sabha segments of this state, Bijapur is located in the historically prominent district of Bijapur. The Bijapur Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 4) has a total of 1,373,604 electorates out of which 662,782 are females and 710,822 are males according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports. Ruled by the Adil Shah dynasty, Bijapur was one of the five splinter states of the Bahamani Sultanate in 1518. Bijapur then passed into the hands of the Nizam of Hyderabad, who set up his own independent kingdom there, before being annexed by the mighty Marathas.

In the Third Anglo-Maratha War between the British and the Marathas, the kingdom of Bijapur was finally made a part of the British dominion. Bijapur thus inherits a prominent historical legacy spanning across centuries. The city of Bijapur is the administrative headquarters of the eponymous district. With a population of 2,175,102, as per the 2011 Census records, this district primarily has an agricultural economy. Farming is the main occupation, and crops such as grapes, guava, lime and pomegranate are grown, besides commercial crops such as sugarcane and cotton. Out of the eight Assembly segments which constitute this district, only the segment of Nagthan is reserved for candidates belonging to the Scheduled Castes.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Bijapur Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Bijapur parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Bijapur constituency is Shri Ramesh Chandappa Jigajinagi of BJP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
20144Bijapur(SC)Ramesh Jigajinagi M BJP 471757 Prakash Rathod M INC 401938
20094Bijapur(SC)Jigajinagi,Shri Ramesh Chandappa MBJP308939Prakash Kubasing RathodMINC266535
200428BijapurGENBasanagouda R Patil (Yatnal)MBJP344905Basanagouda Somanagouda Patil (Managuli)MINC307372
199928BijapurGENBasangouda Ramangouda Patil(Yatnal)MBJP348816Gudadinni Laxmibai BasagondappaMINC312177
199828BijapurGENPatil Mallanagouda BasanagoudaMINC261623Patil Basanagouda LinganagoudaMBJP208801
199628BijapurGENPatil Basangouda RudragoudaMJD185504Basanagouda Ramanagouda Patil(Yatnal)MBJP154911
199128BijapurGENGudadinni Basagondappa KadappaMINC207887Pattan Shetty Rajashekar VeergondappaMBJP140233
198928BijapurGENGudadinni Basagondappa KadappaMINC306050Shivashankareppa Mallappa GuraddiMJD182717
198428BijapurGENGuraddi Shivashankareppa MallappaMJNP206737Choudhari Rayagondappa BhimannaMINC204318
198028BijapurGENChoudhari Kalingappa BhimannaMINC(I)167091Khed Ningappa SiddappaMJNP156529
197728BijapurGENChoudhari Kalingappa BhimannaMINC173700Nagathan Irappa ChanamallappaMBLD152026

List of Assembly Constituencies in Bijapur Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Bijapur parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
MuddebihalDevar HippargiBasavana Bagevadi
BabaleshwarBijapur CityNagthan (SC)

Last Updated on June 30, 2020
Managed By 5 Dots Partners | © 2023