Track your constituency
Live News

Saraikela (Jharkhand) Assembly Constituency Election Update

About Saraikela Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Constituency

Reserved for the Scheduled Tribes, the assembly constituency of Saraikela is occupied by JMM (Jharkhand Mukti Morcha). Champai Soren won the assembly elections of 2009 for the second consecutive time. He defeated his nearest rival Laxhman Tudu of BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party). Soren bagged 57156 votes as against Tudu's 53910 votes. Located in Seraikella Kharsawan district of Maharashtra, the assembly constituency belongs to Singhbhum parliamentary constituency. As per 2011, the city had a population of 26,145. It is also the district headquarters.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Saraikela Assembly Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Saraikela assembly elections conducted so far.

YearA C No.Constituency NameCategoryWinnerGenderPartyVotesRunner UpGenderPartyVotes
201451Saraikela (ST)Champai SorenMJMM94746Ganesh MahaliMBJP93631
200951Saraikela (ST)Champai SorenMJMM57156Laxhman TuduMBJP53910
200551Saraikela (ST)Champai SorenMJMM61112Lakxhman TuduMBJP60230