Live News

Track your constituency
Live News

Silchar Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

The Silchar parliamentary constituency is one of the 14 Lok Sabha seats which are allotted to the state of Assam, and which in turn represents this state in the Lok Sabha. 978,510 is the total electorate count in the Silchar Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 2).Out of these 514,337 number of electorates are males and the remaining 464,173 are belong to the female category as the Election commission of India 2009 reports suggest. This constituency is an important seat of the Congress, as not only did the party win a majority of the terms in the Lok Sabha from the Silchar constituency, but the present Union Minister , Sontosh Mohan Dev of the Congress, has been elected as the MP from Silchar for five terms. Situated in the Cachar district of Assam, Silchar is the administrative seat of the district, besides also being a part of the Municipal area of Assam. Situated in the southernmost regions in the state of Assam, the Silchar parliamentary constituency is located by the banks of the Barak River, popularly called the Barak Valley. The economy in the Silchar parliamentary constituency is reliant on crops such as tea, rice and other agricultural products. It also survives on limited industry such as paper-making and tea-box manufacturing. However, the Cachar district which is entirely covered by this Lok Sabha seat has been announced as a backward district in the country, being fed by governmental funds under the scheme of Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme. The total population of the Silchar constituency is 2,28,985 as per the 2011 Census.

Silchar Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Silchar Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Rajdeep RoyBharatiya Janata Party4962350317949941452.59Winner
Sushmita DevIndian National Congress4162330158541781843.991st Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above852502285470.92nd Runner-up
Nazia Yasmin MazumdarNational People'S Party565004356930.63rd Runner-up
Sabindra DasIndependent39810439850.424th Runner-up
Hitabrata RoyAll India Trinamool Congress349801635140.375th Runner-up
Nazmul Haque LaskarIndependent18160418200.196th Runner-up
Mohendra Chandra DasIndependent16520316550.177th Runner-up
Shuvadip DattaIndependent15320315350.168th Runner-up
Ashutosh BhattacharjeeIndependent15030415070.169th Runner-up
Puran Lal GoalaIndependent14590114600.1510th Runner-up
Shyam Deo KurmiSocialist Unity Centre Of India (Communist)108101410950.1211th Runner-up
Badrul Islam BarbhuiyaAll India Forward Bloc8290118400.0912th Runner-up
Ashitava DuttaIndependent808058130.0913th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Silchar Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Silchar parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Silchar constituency is Sushmita Dev of INC.

Year PC No. PC Name Category WinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
20142SilcharGENSushmita Dev F INC 336451 Kabindra Purkayastha M BJP 301210
20092SilcharGENPurkayastha,Shri Kabindra MBJP243532Badruddin AjmalMAUDF202062
20042SilcharGENSontosh Mohan DevMINC246215Kabindra PurkyasthaMBJP224895
19992SilcharGENSontosh Mohan DevMINC329256Kabindra PurkayasthaMBJP221504
19982SilcharGENKabindra PurkayasthaMBJP230747Santosh Mohan DevMINC210807
19962SilcharGENSontosh Mohan DebMINC237804Kabindra PurkayasthaMBJP169663
19912SilcharGENKabindra PurkayasthaMBJP204201Nurul HudaMCPM193350
19852SilcharGENSantosh Mohan DevMINC219790Noorul HudaMCPM175711
19802SilcharGENSantosh Mohan Dev (Rana Dev)MINC(I)192426Rashida Haque ChaudhuryMINC(U)173820
19772SilcharGENRashida Haque ChoudhuryMINC138638Noorul HudaMCPM110085

List of Assembly Constituenciesin Silchar Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Silchar parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
SonaiSilcharDholai (SC)

Last Updated on June 26, 2020
Live at 6 PM | Bihar Exit Poll | Exit Poll

Live at 5PM | Bihar Elections - ओवैसी का बुख़ार महागठबंधन को | Sanjay Dixit