Live News

Track your constituency
Live News

Gauhati Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

A Parliamentary seat alternating between the Congress party and the BJP, the Gauhati Lok Sabha constituency belongs to the north-eastern state of Assam and is one of the 14 seats that represent this exotic state in the country.1,723,860 is the total electorate count in the Gauhati Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 7). Out of these 890,882 number of electorates are males and the remaining 832,978 are belong to the female category as the Election commission of India 2009 reports suggest. Comprising the Gauhati Municipal area, this parliamentary constituency houses the state's capital Dispur.

The Gauhati parliamentary constituency covers the entire district called the Kamrup Metropolitan district, whose administrative headquarters is the city of Guwahati. Lying between the foothills of the Shillong Plateau and the banks of the river Brahmaputra, the city of Guwahati or Gauhati is an ancient urban area in the state, renowned for its rich cultural heritage.

With a population of 9,63,429 of the Guwahati city, as per provisional reports of Census India 2011 is 963,429; this parliamentary constituency is the primary educational, cultural, commercial and political entry point not only to Assam, but to the whole north-eastern region. While the population of the Kamrup district is 15,84,342.10 assembly constituencies constitute the parliamentary seat of Gauhati, out of which Dudhnoi and Boko are reserved for candidates belonging to the marginalized sections of the society.

Gauhati Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Queen OjaBharatiya Janata Party100715601780100893657.2Winner
Bobbeeta SharmaIndian National Congress662776055466333037.611st Runner-up
Upamanyu HazarikaIndependent21114079211931.22nd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above10442024104660.593rd Runner-up
Manoj SharmaAll India Trinamool Congress1013506101410.574th Runner-up
Faruk Ahmed BhuyanIndependent90430190440.515th Runner-up
Shankha SinhaIndependent78470278490.456th Runner-up
Junmoni Devi KhaundIndependent54790454830.317th Runner-up
Pankaj DasSwarna Bharat Party41020841100.238th Runner-up
Sadek AliRepublican Party Of India (A)36450536500.219th Runner-up
Alimuddin AhmedIndependent28330328360.1610th Runner-up
Utpal BorgohainIndependent27480527530.1611th Runner-up
Partha Pratim BaruahVoters Party International25870325900.1512th Runner-up
Mamoni SarmaPurvanchal Janta Party (Secular)24510524560.1413th Runner-up
Ratul Kumar ChoudhurySamajwadi Party23780523830.1414th Runner-up
Avijit ChakrabortyBharatiya Gana Parishad233501623510.1315th Runner-up
Rajib KakatiHindusthan Nirman Dal21190321220.1216th Runner-up
Rubi NeogNational Republican Congress205001420640.1217th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Gauhati Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Gauhati parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Gauhati constituency is Smt. Bijoya Chakravarty of BJP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category WinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
20147GauhatiGENSmt. Bijoya Chakraborty F BJP 764985 Manash Borah M INC 449201
20097GauhatiGENChakravarty,Smt. Bijoya FBJP496047Capt. Robin BordoloiMINC484192
20047GauhatiGENKirip ChalihaMINC353250Bhupen HazarikaMBJP292099
19997GauhatiGENBijoya ChakravartyFBJP384771Bhubaneswar KalitaMINC309533
19987GauhatiGENBhubaneswar KalitaMINC285482Manoranjan GoswamiMBJP157309
19967GauhatiGENPrabin Chandra SarmahMAGP372833Bhubaneswar KalitaMINC258436
19917GauhatiGENKirip ChalihaMINC169628Asfaf AliMNAGP124823
19857GauhatiGENDinesh GoswamiMIND428013Bhagaban LahkarMINC124507
19777GauhatiGENRenuka Devi BarktakiFBLD149255Dinesh Chandra GoswamiMINC112815
19717GauhatiGENDinesh Chandra GoswamiMINC140483Dhireswar Kalita MCPI44482
19677GauhatiGEND. KalitaMCPI90208R. D. Barkataki MINC88658
19626GauhatiGENHem BoruaMPSP133812Tirtha Nath SarmahMINC101750
19575GauhatiGENBarua HemMPSP143497Devendra Nath SarmaMINC96624
1956By PollsGauhatiGEND.N. SarmaMINC45057Hem BaruaMPSP29112
19515GauhatiGENRohini Kumar ChaudhuryMINC96122Lakshya Dhar Chaudhury MSP72553

List of Assembly Constituenciesin Gauhati Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Gauhati parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Dudhnoi (ST)Boko (SC)Chhaygaon
Guwahati EastGuwahati WestHajo

Last Updated on March 26, 2020
Live at 6 PM | Bihar Exit Poll | Exit Poll

Live at 5PM | Bihar Elections - ओवैसी का बुख़ार महागठबंधन को | Sanjay Dixit