Live News

Track your constituency
Live News

Dhubri Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

Presently represented by Badruddin Ajmal of the Assam United Democratic Front, the Dhubri Lok Sabha seat is a parliamentary constituency in the north-eastern state of Assam.The Dhubri Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 4) has a total of 1,371,949 electorates out of which 667,080 are females and 704,869 are males according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports. It has traditionally been a Congress stronghold from the very early times, although the Praja Socialist Party won the elections from the Dhubri constituency for the first two terms in 1951 and 1957, respectively.  

The Dhubri Lok Sabha constituency is situated in the Dhubri district on the banks of the Brahmaputra and the Gadadhar rivers. The Dhubri district is an administrative district in Assam, and has as its administrative headquarters, the beautiful and historic city of Dhubri.  The Dhubri district has a total population of 19,49,258, as per the 2011 Census.  

The district of Dhubri is economically dependent on rich agricultural production, paddy being the staple crop that gives the region its rich economy. Along with paddy, other agricultural crops grown are jute, mustard seed, wheat, maize and pulses. Besides, a myriad variety of forest products also supply the region with its economic backbone, such as timber and bamboo. A whole range of natural wealth in the Dhubri district still remains to be explored, which will further add to the district economy.

Dhubri Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Badruddin AjmalAll India United Democratic Front718131063371876442.66Winner
Abu Taher BepariIndian National Congress492086042049250629.231st Runner-up
Zabed IslamAsom Gana Parishad398770096339973323.722nd Runner-up
Nurul Islam ChoudhuryAll India Trinamool Congress12865030128950.773rd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above896301589780.534th Runner-up
Alakesh RoyHindusthan Nirman Dal771706377800.465th Runner-up
Shukur AliIndependent77650977740.466th Runner-up
Shajahan SheikhVoters Party International56250356280.337th Runner-up
Anamika SarkarIndependent556602355890.338th Runner-up
Rukunur ZamanIndependent43930043930.269th Runner-up
Surat Jaman MondalSocialist Unity Centre Of India (Communist)430402143250.2610th Runner-up
Mehbubar RahmanRepublican Party Of India (A)42490142500.2511th Runner-up
Mir Hussain SarkarIndependent41380041380.2512th Runner-up
Uttam Kumar RayIndependent329003133210.213th Runner-up
Johirul Islam KhanPurvanchal Janta Party (Secular)284601328590.1714th Runner-up
Nripen DasBharatiya National Janta Dal1908016420720.1215th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Dhubri Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Dhubri parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Dhubri constituency is Maulana Badruddin Ajmal of AUDF.

Year PC No. PC Name Category WinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
20144DhubriGENMaulana Badruddin Ajmal M AUDF 592569 Wazed Ali Choudhury M INC 362839
20094DhubriGENAjmal,Maulana Badruddin MAUDF540820Anwar HussainMINC356401
20044DhubriGENAnwar HussainMINC376588Afzalur RahmanMAGP259966
19994DhubriGENAbdul HamidMINC279812DR Pannalal OswalMBJP258472
19984DhubriGENAbdul HamidMINC374625Dr. Pannalal OswalMBJP180987
19964DhubriGENNurul IslamMINC314594Onkarmal AgarwalMAGP182373
19914DhubriGENNurul IslamMINC189843Dinesh Chandra SarkarMBJP140391
19854DhubriGENAbdul HamidMIND159945Nurul IslamMINC148127
19774DhubriGENAhmmad HossenMINC151328Zahirul IslamMBLD150738
19714DhubriGENMoinul Haque ChowdhuryMINC180226Jahan Uddin Ahmed MPSP30478
19674DhubriGENJ. AhmedMPSP144141A. Ali MINC77833
19624DhubriGENMau Ghysuddin AhammadMINC89407Williamson SangmaMIND61891
19573DhubriGENAli AmjadMPSP101303Haque Nazmul MINC73410

List of Assembly Constituenciesin Dhubri Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Dhubri parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
MankacharSalmara SouthDhubri
GauripurGolakganjBilasipara West
Bilasipara EastGoalpara EastGoalpara West

Last Updated on March 26, 2020
Live at 6 PM | Bihar Exit Poll | Exit Poll

Live at 5PM | Bihar Elections - ओवैसी का बुख़ार महागठबंधन को | Sanjay Dixit