Live News

Track your constituency
Live News

Barpeta Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

Situated in the Barpeta district in the north-eastern state of Assam, the Barpeta parliamentary constituency is one of the 14 Lok Sabha constituencies representative of Assam in the Lower House of Parliament. The total number of electorates in the Barpeta Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 6) according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports are 1,239,607 of which 657,292 are males and 582,315 are females.It is located in the western parts of Assam. The Barpeta city is the district administrative headquarters of Barpeta, and hence one of the most important cities in Assam.  

Barpeta district's populatio is 16,93,622, as per the 2011 Census. The total number of voters in the Barpeta parliamentary constituency is 90,169 people. The Barpeta district came into existence as a split from a larger Kamrup district in 1983. The tributaries of Brahmaputra—Mora Nodi (Dead River), Chaulkhowa and Nakhanda are located in this parliamentary constituency.  

Barpeta district is one of the 11 districts of Assam which have been recognized as economically dependent and a backward region in the state, and is being funded by the government’s special scheme called Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme (BRGF). Being in the north-eastern regions of India, Barpeta is one of the most politically volatile parliamentary constituencies in the county’s overall political discourse. 10 assembly segments comprise the Lok Sabha constituency of Barpeta, none of them being reserved for the marginalized sections of the society.

Barpeta Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Barpeta Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Abdul KhalequeIndian National Congress6434410173264517344.23Winner
Kumar Deepak DasAsom Gana Parishad5013190354750486634.611st Runner-up
Rafiqul IslamAll India United Democratic Front248360030724866717.052nd Runner-up
Ashahak Ali DewanAll India Trinamool Congress20405061204661.43rd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above964808697340.674th Runner-up
Santanu MukherjeeBharatiya Gana Parishad5279012954080.375th Runner-up
Matiar RahmanThe National Road Map Party Of India39700339730.276th Runner-up
Aroon BarooaPurvanchal Janta Party (Secular)3424019436180.257th Runner-up
Saniara ParbinVoters Party International339104634370.248th Runner-up
Rejaul KarimRepublican Party Of India (A)33450533500.239th Runner-up
Arfan AliIndependent278001927990.1910th Runner-up
Pranabjyoti Das RajbonshiNational People'S Party239007224620.1711th Runner-up
Chitralekha DasSocialist Unity Centre Of India (Communist)232206023820.1612th Runner-up
Bhadreswar BarmanNational Republican Congress216405022140.1513th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Barpeta Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Barpeta parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Barpeta constituency is Siraj Uddin Ajmal of AUDF.

Year PC No. PC Name Category WinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
20146BarpetaGENSiraj Uddin Ajmal M AUDF 394702 Chandra Mohan Patowary M BJP 352361
20096BarpetaGENHussain,Shri Ismail MINC322137Bhupen RayMAGP291708
20046BarpetaGENA. F. Golam OsmaniMINC266972Kumar Deepak DasMAGP198847
19996BarpetaGENA F Golam OsmaniMINC325838Ramani Kanta DekaMBJP236476
19986BarpetaGENA.F.Golam OsmaniMUMFA357759Manjushree PathakMBJP133297
19966BarpetaGENUddhab BarmanMCPM250451Abdus Samad AhmedMUMFA182948
19916BarpetaGENUddhab BarmanMCPM206772Abdul LatifMINC153665
19856BarpetaGENAtaur RahmanMIND282533Sirajul HoqueMIND226237
19776BarpetaGENIsmail Hossain KhanMINC196832Biswa GoswamiMBLD148718
19716BarpetaGENFakhruddin Ali AhmedMINC210662Khanindra Chandra Barua MBJS74542
19676BarpetaGENF. A. AhmedMINC173240P. L. Choudhury MBJS114920
19627BarpetaGENRenuka Devi BarkatakiFINC86691Biswa Goswami MPSP64100
19514BarpetaGENBeliram DasMINC76293Bipin Pal Das MSP63950

List of Assembly Constituenciesin Barpeta Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Barpeta parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
BongaigaonAbhayapuri NorthAbhayapuri South

Last Updated on March 26, 2020
Live at 6 PM | Bihar Exit Poll | Exit Poll

Live at 5PM | Bihar Elections - ओवैसी का बुख़ार महागठबंधन को | Sanjay Dixit