Track your constituency

Live News

Dhemaji (Assam) Election Results 2016

Latest Election News and Update Bihar Exit Poll NDA Wins Bihar Election: Accurately Predicted by – Chintamani Exit Poll

The – Chintamani Exit poll for Bihar Election 2020 couldn’t have been more accurate to predict the win of NDA. When all the other exit polls had projected a Read More…

Bihar Election Result LIVE Update Bihar Election Results LIVE Updates

9:37:41 PM Mayawati’s BSP has secured 1 seat in Bihar Elections. While AIMIM had won 3 seats and is leading on 2. In the case of Left parties, CPI and Read More…

Bihar Exit Poll Unpredictability The Unpredictability of Exit Polls in Bihar Election

The Bihar Election 2020 Exit Polls have failed to give a uniform prediction about the winner. This means that the actual Bihar Election Result 2020 can swing in any direction. Read More…

Bihar Exit Poll 2020 Chintamani Exit Poll Predicts NDA’s Victory in Bihar Election 2020

Bihar has voted for the third and final phase of Bihar Election 2020. The result of the Bihar Election 2020 will be announced on 10 November. Prior to that, Chintamani Read More…

BJP Vote Share 2015 Analysis: Compared to Rivals, BJP’s Bihar Vote Share Swelled from 2005

Bihar is a state where the calculations of caste arithmetic and vote share hold tremendous importance for the political parties. Moreover, it can make or break the Bihar election result. Read More…

Bihar Election 2020: Key Candidates in the Ring for First Phase

The Bihar Election 2020 is commencing since the polling for the first phase is scheduled for 28 October 2020. In the first phase, 71 constituencies are witnessing the battle. Many Read More…

Dhemaji by Election 2017 Date

Poll EventsSchedule
Date of Notification14.03.2017 (TUE)
last Date of Making Nomination21.03.2017 (TUE)
Scrutiny of Nominations22.03.2017 (WED)
Withdrawal of Candidature24.03.2017 (FRI)
Date of Poll09.04.2017 (SUN)
Date of Counting13.04.2017 (THU)
Date of Completion15.04.2017 (SAT)

About Dhemaji Assembly Constituency

Dhemaji is constituency No. 113 of Assam legislative assembly. It is situated in Dhemaji district and comes under Lakhimpur Lok Sabha constituency. This assembly seat is reserved for scheduled tribes (ST).

According to the Election Commission of India, Dhemaji has 1,86,281 registered voters. It comprises 94,881 male and 91,400 female registered voters.

In the 2011 assembly elections, the Congress won this seat by a margin of 7,285 votes. Sumitra Doley Patir, the winning Congress candidate, got 59,633 votes. The runner-up was Paramananda Sonowal of AGP. Sonowal got 52,348 votes. The voter turnout was 75.08 %.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Dhemaji Assembly Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Dhemaji assembly elections conducted so far.

YearA C No.Constituency NameCategoryWinnerGender PartyVotesRunner Up GenderPartyVotes
2016113Dhemaji(ST)Pradan BaruahMBJP69592Sumitra Doley Patir F INC 50471
2011113Dhemaji(ST)Sumitra Doley PatirF INC59633Paramananda Sonowal M AGP 52348
2006113Dhemaji(ST)Sumitra PatirF INC44960Paramananda Sonowal M AGP 35841
2001113Dhemaji(ST)Dilip Kumar SaikiaMAGP31166Sumitra Patir F INC 30685
1996113Dhemaji(ST)Dilip Kumar Saikia MAGP36315Porna Kanta Pegu M INC 25076
1991113Dhemaji(ST)Dilip Kumar SaikiaMAGP23730Durgeswar Patir M INC 15719
1985113Dhemaji(ST)Dilip Kumar SaikiaMIND38862Purna Kanta Pegu M INC 9579
1983113Dhemaji(ST)Durgeswar PatirMINC237Basanta Doley M PTC 70
1978113Dhemaji(ST)Purna Chandra BoraMIND12608Upendra Nath Panging M CPM 11804
1972115Dhemaji(ST)Romesh Mohon KuliMSWA21663Lali Kumar Doley M INC 18789
1967115Dhemaji(ST)R.M. KuliMSWA7291L.K. Doley M INC 7017

Last Updated on Mar 21, 2017