Who Will Form the Next Govenment in Telangana?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp

Ghatal Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2014

Ghatal Parliamentary Constituency is one of West Bengal's 42 Lok Sabha constituencies and was formed prior to the 1951 elections. The total number of electorates in the Ghatal Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 32) according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports are 1,354,861 of which 659,272 are males and 695,589 are females. It is divided into seven segments, two of which are reserved for the SC category and is part of the Paschim Medinipur District. It has a total of 1,355,000 voters. It has an elevation of 5 m and is situated at the conflux of the Shilabati, Jhumi and Dwarekeswar rivers. It is the headquarters of the Ghatal subdivision and is situated near the Rupnayaran River.

Ghatal has a total population of over 51,000 as of 2001 census with a 52% majority of males and 48% females. It has a sex ratio of 960 females per 1000 males. It has a majority of Hindus. With a literacy rate of 76%, Ghatal has a male literacy rate of 83% and a female literacy rate of 69%. Bengali, Hindi, English and Urdu are prevalent here. Most of the economy of the area is dependent on agriculture, fishing, handiwork and food produce. Paddy, wheat and potato are the major cultivation interests while fishing is also an important occupation. The city has an extensive road network and is served by several state highways connecting it to nearby destinations in and around the state.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Ghatal Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Ghatal parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Ghatal constituency is Shri Adhikari Deepak (Dev) of AITC.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201432GhatalGENAdhikari Deepak (Dev)MAITC685696Santosh RanaMCPI424805
200932GhatalGENDasgupta,Shri Gurudas MCPI625923Nure Alam ChowdhuryMAITC478739
197127GhatalGENJagadish BhattacharyyaMCPM128366Parihal Ghosh MINC127044
196727GhatalGENG. ParimalMINC138572P. KarMCPI109662
196224GhatalGENSachindra Nath ChoudhuryMINC179045Manoranjan Roy MCPI148207
195716GhatalGENNikunja Behari MaityMINC165597Nikunja ChowdhuryMCPI112025
19519GhatalGENChowdhury Nikunja BehariMCPI73435Basu Maitreyee MINC68916

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

Facts about current sitting MP of Ghatal Constituency

Name of MP Shri Deepak (Dev) Adhikari
Age 36
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May 2014 to In office
Political Party All India Trinamool Congress
Gender Male
Educational Qualification B.E. (Computer Engineering)
Activities of Shri Deepak (Dev) Adhikari in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 2
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 0
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Ghatal Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Ghatal parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Panskura PaschimSabangPingla
DebraDaspurGhatal (SC)
Keshpur (SC) 

Last Updated on February 24, 2015

Track your constituency