Track your constituency

Tufanganj (West Bengal) Assembly Constituency Elections 2018

Elections Latest News And Updates

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Lok Sabha Elections 2019: BSP announces candidates for 6 Chhattisgarh Seats

The candidates were announced for Bastar, Kanker, Raigarh, Durg, Surguja, and Janjgir Champa. The last of these six seats — an SC reserved seat — is where the BSP is Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 BJP trying to create ‘hyper nationalistic environment’ ahead of Lok Sabha Elections: Rahul Gandhi

Congress president Rahul Gandhi has accused the BJP of trying to create a ‘hyper nationalistic environment’ ahead of the Lok Sabha Elections only to distract people from the issues of Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Mamata Releases TMC List for all 42 West Bengal Seats

West Bengal chief minister Mamata Banerjee on Tuesday announced a list of TMC candidates for all the 42 Lok Sabha seats of the state, dropping 10 sitting MPs. She also attacked the BJP and the Read More…

Lok Sabha Election 2019 Lok Sabha Election 2019: Priya Dutt, Raj Babbar Feature in Congress 2nd List

The Congress released its second list of 21 candidates for the Lok Sabha elections 2019 on Wednesday. The grand old party fielded its Uttar Pradesh chief Raj Babbar from Moradabad, Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Congress Releases First List of Candidates

Congress has put out its first list of candidates for the Lok Sabha elections, with party chief Rahul Gandhi contesting his bastion Amethi and UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi contesting from Read More…

upcoming Lok Sabha elections 2019 Samajwadi Party Releases First List of Candidates for Lok Sabha Elections 2019

There is no denying the fact that the road to the treasury bench of the lower house of the Parliament goes through Uttar Pradesh. The BJP-led coalition won 73 seats Read More…

No query found

About Tufanganj Legislative Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Constituency

Tufanganj is a legislative assembly segment in the state of West Bengal. It is located in the Cooch Behar district and a part of
the Alipurduars (ST) Lok Sabha (parliamentary) constituency of the state. The Election Commission of India, in 2014, enrolled a total of 2,02,635 people of the constituency as eligible voters. Amongst all the voters in the constituency, there are 1,06,338 men and 96,297 women. The Tufanganj assembly constituency comprises Nakkatigachh, Andaran Fulbari-I, Dhalpal-I and Balabhut gram panchayats of Tufanganj-I community development block; and Tufanganj-II Community development block as per the recommendations of the Delimitation Commission of India - 2008.

Arghya Roy Pradhan of the All India Trinamool Congress (AITC) is the sitting MLA from Tufanganj as he won the seat with 73,721 votes in the 2011 election. He defeated CPM's Dhananjoy Rava, who managed to get 67,539 votes. This constituency was reserved for the candidates coming from the Scheduled Castes (SC) before the Delimitation of the parliamentary and assembly constituencies in 2008.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Tufanganj Assembly Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Tufanganj assembly elections conducted so far.

YearA C No.Constituency NameCategoryWinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
20119TufanganjGENArghya Roy PradhanMAITC73721Dhananjoy RavaMCPM67539
20069Tufanganj(SC)Alaka BarmanFCPI(M)74243Malati Rava (Ray)FBJP49026
20019Tufanganj(SC)Pushpa Chandra DasMCPM70909Sachindra Chandra DasMAITC35224
19969Tufanganj(SC)Puspa Chandra DasMCPM66436Sachindr Chandra DasMINC39583
19919Tufanganj(SC)Debendra Nath BarmanMCPM57062Mahesh Ch. BarmanMINC25022
19879Tufanganj(SC)Manindra Nath BarmaMCPM50748Isore SisirMINC37168
19829Tufanganj(SC)Manindra Nath BarmaMCPM42887Sankar Sen IshoreMINC35192
19779Tufanganj(SC)Manindra Nath BarmaMCPM28572Surendra Narayan Roy KungarMINC11361
19728Tufanganj(SC)Isore Sisit KumarMINC34364Manindra Nath BarmanMCPM16697
19718Tufanganj(SC)Sishir Kumar IsoreMINC28678Manindranath BarmaMCPM18573
19698Tufanganj(SC)Akshay Kumar BarmaMINC30808Manindra Nath BarmaMCPM20341
19627TufanganjGENJiban Krishna DeyMCPI26222Jatindra Nath Sinha SarkarMINC20746
195711TufanganjGENJatindra Nath Sinha SarkerMINC21915Jiban Krishna DeMCPI9953

Last Updated on May 13, 2016