Which state goes to assembly elections 2018 next?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp
News at a Glance

Kumarganj (West Bengal) Assembly Constituency Elections 2018

Winner and Runnerup Candidate in Kumarganj assembly constituency

The table below shows the Winner and Runnerup candidate form the Kumarganj Assembly Constituency. The party symbol is also shown along.

Winner Candidate -
Toraf Hossain Mandal (won by:3496 )
Political Party -

Kumarganj Election Results 2016

Table showing the winning and the runner-up Candidate of the 2016 Vidhan Sabha Election in Kumarganj Assembly

YearPartySymbolstatusCandidate Namevotes
2016 AITC WinnerToraf Hossain Mandal 64501
2016 CPM RunnerUpMafuja Khatun 61005

List of candidates for Kumarganj Constituency 2016

The table below shows the contesting candidates of AITMC, BJP, CPI(M), Congress, CPI, Independent etc. from the Kumarganj Assembly Constituency in the West bengal Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Elections 2016.

Kumarganj , Constituency No -(38)
Election Date04/17/16 
Result Date05/19/16 
Election Symbol Political PartyCandidate Name
BSPBSPBipul Tudu
AITC AITC Toraf Hossain Mandal
BJPBJPManas Sarkar
CPM CPM Mafuja Khatun
INDINDNarayan Chandra Roy
SUCI(C)SUCI(C)Ranjit Dev
BMPBMPGolok Barman

About Kumarganj Legislative Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Constituency

Kumarganj is a legislative assembly constituency in West Bengal, which belongs to the Balurghat Lok Sabha (parliamentary)
constituency of the state. The Kumarganj assembly segment is located in the Dakshin Dinajpur district. Begam Mahamuda of the All India Trinamool Congress (AITC) was elected as the MLA from Kumarganj in the assembly elections held in 2011 when she got 62,212 votes. CPM's Khatun Mafuja managed to get 57,994 votes and settled as the runner-up.

The Election Commission of India, in 2014, identified a total of 1,73,635 people of the Kumarganj assembly segment as eligible voters as per the universal adult franchise;  91,196 men and 82,435 women collectively make the electorate of Kumarganj. The Kumarganj legislative assembly constituency of West Bengal consists of Uday, Ashokegram, Chaloon and Basuria gram panchayats of Gangarampur community development block; and Kumarganj community development block as recommended by the Delimitation Commission of India in 2008.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Kumarganj Assembly Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Kumarganj assembly elections conducted so far.

YearA C No.Constituency NameCategoryWinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
201138KumarganjGENBegam MahamudaFAITC62212Khatun MafujaFCPM57994
200637KumarganjGENMafuja KhatunFCPI(M)75769Ahmad Ali Sardar (Moulana Saheb)MAITC65133
200137KumarganjGENKhatun MafujaFCPM69669Nani Gopal RoyMAITC56379
199637KumarganjGENRoy Dwijendra NathMCPM62816Parinita Singha RoyFINC47606
199137KumarganjGENDwijendras Nath OroyMCPM53957Proboh Kumar Singh RoyMINC37512
198737KumarganjGENDwijendra MondalMCPM53634Afrabuddin SarkarMINC44008
198237KumarganjGENDwijendra Nath RayMCPM49984Sekhar Kumar Das GuptaMINC41209
1981By PollsKumarganjGENR.D.NathMCPM46046K.SayedMINC(I)34751
197737KumarganjGENJamini Kisore MojumdarMCPM25123Khalil SayedMINC19912
197233KumarganjGENProbodh Kumar Singha RoyMINC27790Jamini Kishore MojumderMCPM18857
197133KumarganjGENProbodh Kumar Singh RoyMINC18829Jamini Kishore MojumdarMCPM17382
196933KumarganjGENAbinash BasuMBAC18817Maharaja BoseMINC15846


Last Updated on May 13, 2016

Track your constituency