Track your constituency

Barrackpur (West Bengal) Assembly Constituency Elections 2018

Elections Latest News And Updates

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Rahul hid Income info from Election Commission: New BJP Salvo

BJP on Sunday accused Congress president Rahul Gandhi of hiding facts about his income from the Election Commission and alleged that he made huge profits through highly inflated rentals and Read More…

Loksabha Elections 2019 Amit Shah says that Election is Modi vs Faceless Opposition

Dubbing the Lok Sabha elections as a contest between Prime Minister Narendra Modi and a ‘faceless’ alliance of opposition parties, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) president Amit Shah, on Sunday, appealed Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Lok Sabha Elections 2019: BSP announces candidates for 6 Chhattisgarh Seats

The candidates were announced for Bastar, Kanker, Raigarh, Durg, Surguja, and Janjgir Champa. The last of these six seats — an SC reserved seat — is where the BSP is Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 BJP trying to create ‘hyper nationalistic environment’ ahead of Lok Sabha Elections: Rahul Gandhi

Congress president Rahul Gandhi has accused the BJP of trying to create a ‘hyper nationalistic environment’ ahead of the Lok Sabha Elections only to distract people from the issues of Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Mamata Releases TMC List for all 42 West Bengal Seats

West Bengal chief minister Mamata Banerjee on Tuesday announced a list of TMC candidates for all the 42 Lok Sabha seats of the state, dropping 10 sitting MPs. She also attacked the BJP and the Read More…

Lok Sabha Election 2019 Lok Sabha Election 2019: Priya Dutt, Raj Babbar Feature in Congress 2nd List

The Congress released its second list of 21 candidates for the Lok Sabha elections 2019 on Wednesday. The grand old party fielded its Uttar Pradesh chief Raj Babbar from Moradabad, Read More…

No query found

About Barrackpur Assembly Constituency

Barrackpur is constituency No. 108 of West Bengal legislative assembly. It is situated in North 24 Parganas district. It is part of the Lok Sabha constituency No. 15 which is also called Barrackpur. It is an unreserved constituency.

According to the Election Commission of India, Barrackpur has a total of 1,70,241 registered voters. Out of this, 93,534 are male and 76,707 are female voters. This constituency came into existence in 2011. With this, the former Titagarh constituency ceased to exist.

In the 2011 assembly elections, the Barrackpur seat was won by Silbhadra Dutta of Trinamool Congress. He defeated his main contender, Madhusudan Samanta of CPI(M), by a margin of 36,123 votes. While Dutta bagged 79,515 votes, Samanta got 43,392. The voter turnout was 77.86 %. This was an important win because the TMC won from this erstwhile Titagarh constituency for the first time. Titagarh had been with the CPI(M) for four consecutive terms.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Barrackpur Assembly Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Barrackpur assembly elections conducted so far.

YearA C No.Constituency NameCategoryWinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
2011108BarrackpurGENSilbhadra DattaMAITC79515Dr. Madhusudan SamantaMCPM43392
1951147BarrackpurGENPhanindranath MukhopadhyaMINC10596Satkari MitraMFBL(RG)7293

Last Updated on May 13, 2016